Life Ruins (Hardback)
  • Life Ruins (Hardback)
zoom

Life Ruins (Hardback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£20.00
Hardback 480 Pages / Published: 07/02/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
'A powerful, thought-provoking story, which perfectly evokes the bleak Yorkshire landscape ... a vital read for any crime fan ' Kate Rhodes, author of Hell Bay
Life Ruins combines haunting landscapes with a gripping plot that will appeal to readers of Peter May and Ann Cleeves.

Three very different people, connected by a thread of violence ... and hope.

Kay, recently widowed and coming to terms with life on her own, feels she has hit rock bottom. For years she and her husband fostered difficult children - including Becca, whom trouble follows like a stray puppy. And now Becca seems to be in the worst trouble of her life.

A girl has been attacked so savagely she can't be identified. She's alive, but only just. Becca, tossed out of university and just let go from her dead-end job, is certain she knows who the victim is. But no one will believe her.

A body, briefly glimpsed at the bottom of an abandoned mineshaft, vanishes when the police investigate. Jared, recovering from an almost fatal injury and addicted to painkillers, knows he saw something terrible in that mine... but he has no evidence, and fears he's losing his grip on reality.

And then Jared and Becca meet. Becca, strong-minded and fiercely independent, is confident they can figure out what's going on. She pulls Kay into the mix, knowing they'll need all the help they can get ... because the police don't believe them. And more girls are vanishing ...

Can these three help each other to rebuild their lives from the ruins of the past?

'Life Ruins has all the elements I love in a novel - complex characters, an insidious underlying menace, and haunting landscapes. This dark story will suck you in from the first page' Stephen Booth, author of Fall Down Dead

'Explores real issues, from the perspective of real, damaged people, and told with a real warmth and understanding. Danuta Kot raises the bar for all crime writers' Michael Jecks, author of Pilgrim's War


Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471175909
Number of pages: 480
Dimensions: 234 x 153 x 33 mm
Edition: Library Edition

You may also be interested in...

The Sentence is Death
Added to basket
All That's Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
You
Added to basket
You
£8.99
Paperback
Secret Service
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Their Little Secret
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Man Who Didn't Call
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Blood Orange
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Reckoning
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Those People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
My Sister, the Serial Killer
Added to basket
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Blood & Sugar
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Perfect Wife
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Knife
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Rob

“A dreary and meandering story”

A story set in Yorkshire around the towns of Whitby, Bridlington and the village of Kettleness with coastal cliffs, hidden coves and unexplored tunnels. Into this setting enters Jared a troubled young man with an... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10
Rachel Bridgeman

“A great thriller”

''If you populate an area with prey,the predators will not be far behind.''

In a neat allegory with Whitby's most famous,un-dead celebrity, Dracula, Danuta Kot has created a gripping and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A solid debut from a writer to watch.”

Is there anything more dreary than an English seaside town out of season? Set along the Yorkshire coast principally in Bridlington and Whitby, Danuta Kot’s debut novel is a bleak consideration of some of the evils... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.