Lies We Sing to the Sea (Hardback)
  • Lies We Sing to the Sea (Hardback)
zoom

Lies We Sing to the Sea (Hardback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 496 Pages / Published: 16/03/2023
Available in 169 days

To ensure UK delivery on publication day, please select ‘First Class Delivery’ at the checkout.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Madeline Miller and Jennifer Saint, Underwood's utterly immersive debut novel recasts The Odyssey as a sweeping Sapphic epic of sacrifice, revenge and female courage.

A stunning sapphic reimagining of The Odyssey that explores the fate of Penelope's hanged maids.

In the cursed kingdom of Ithaca, each summer brings the hanging of twelve maidens, a gift to the vengeful Poseidon. But when Leto awakens from her death on the shore of a long-forgotten island, its enigmatic keeper Melantho tells her that there's only one way the curse can be broken. Leto must kill the last prince of Ithaca...

In Lies We Sing to the Sea, debut author Sarah Underwood delivers a thrilling and breathtaking tale that will enthral readers from the very first page as they are transported to the cursed shores of Ithaca.

A reclamation of a story from thousands of years ago, Lies We Sing to the Sea is about love and fate, grief and sacrifice, and, ultimately, the power we must find within.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008558536
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 222 x 141 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Gorgeous, tragic, and timeless, Underwood's Lies We Sing to the Sea makes an age-old story feel new again. This is Greek tragedy at its best: sweeping in scope yet deeply intimate in characterization. This book will break your heart.
- Grace Li (Sunday Times bestselling author of Portrait of a Thief)

"Sarah Underwood's classical reimagining is woven with pure magic: salt-laced myths, a plot that slowly unravels like a tapestry, and vivid characters who are destined to steal your heart. A scintillating, beautiful debut."
-Rebecca Ross, internationally bestselling author of A River Enchanted and Sisters of Sword & Song

"Rich, immersive and utterly compelling. A stunning achievement from Gen Z's answer to Madeline Miller"
Laura Steven, author of Society for Soulless Girls

"Lies We Sing to the Sea is a lyrical, elegant debut bursting with imagination and heart. Underwood expertly weaves a tale about the inevitability of fate-and the love that makes us rail against it anyway. Bittersweet and wholly cathartic."
-Allison Saft, New York Times bestselling author of A Far Wilder Magic

"Sarah Underwood gives a brave, ferocious voice to a character who richly deserves one. Filled with knife-sharp banter, smoldering romance, and twists that will tear your heart to pieces, this is the story about one of Penelope's doomed maids that was always waiting to be told. "
- Heather Walter, author of the Malice duology

"Prepare to be utterly wrecked by this brilliant, lyrical, queer, feminist af book. LIES WE SING TO THE SEA grabbed my heart from the first pages and I couldn't put it down. Utterly breathtaking. I loved it."
Jamie Pacton

You may also be interested in...

The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Wolf Hall
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Circe
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Silence of the Girls
Added to basket
The Book Thief
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Mythos
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Pachinko
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Fingersmith
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Imperium
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Thousand Ships
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Pillars of the Earth
Added to basket
The Miniaturist
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Familiars
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
How We Disappeared
Added to basket
Do Not Say We Have Nothing
Added to basket
The Devil in the Marshalsea
Added to basket

“I loved it”

Firstly, it’s not a retelling of The Odyssey- I’ve seen so many things saying it is and it isn’t. I’m glad it isn’t! It takes the story of the murder of Penelope’s 12 maids and creates a captivating and unique story-... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Great Read!”

Thank you to the publishers for this review copy.
This is a fabulous tale of 12 murdered maids from Homer's Odyssey, when I started it I had no real expectations for it but absolutely loved it.
Loved the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“As stunning as the cover”

I have read a few different Greek retellings at this point and this may be one of my new favourites. It is not particularly faithful to the original myth and has very little to do with the Odyssey, it would be better... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.