Lies We Sing to the Sea (Paperback)
  • Lies We Sing to the Sea (Paperback)
zoom

Lies We Sing to the Sea (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 496 Pages
Published: 29/02/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Madeline Miller and Jennifer Saint, Underwood's utterly immersive debut novel delivers a sweeping Sapphic epic of sacrifice, revenge and female courage inspired by Greek mythology.

A fantasy romance, by dazzling new talent Sarah Underwood, inspired by Greek mythology and the tale of Penelope's twelve hanged maids.

In the cursed kingdom of Ithaca, each spring brings the hanging of twelve maidens, a gift to the vengeful Poseidon. But when Leto awakens from her death on the shore of a long-forgotten island, its enigmatic keeper Melantho tells her that there's only one way the curse can be broken. Leto must kill the last prince of Ithaca . . .

In Lies We Sing to the Sea, debut author Sarah Underwood delivers a thrilling and breathtaking tale that will enthral readers from the very first page as they are transported to the cursed shores of Ithaca.

A reclamation of a story from thousands of years ago, Lies We Sing to the Sea is about love and fate, grief and sacrifice, and, ultimately, the power we must find within.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008518080
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 320 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 33 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

‘A lovely, lyrical fantasy which takes the fate of the hanged maids of the Odyssey and weaves something brand new. A story overflowing with emotion and full of magic.’ Jennifer Saint, bestselling author of Ariadne and Elektra ‘A sensual story about power and autonomy of self, and about how appeasing the gods means making painful choices” The Bookseller One to Watch, 9/12/2022 “A twisting tale of lust, love, loss and sacrifice, told in a style that melds modern snappiness with timeless atmosphere” – LoveReading March 2023 Debut of the Month ‘An immersive and transportive tale of love, loss, death and destiny’ – CultureFly ★★★★ “Gorgeous, tragic, and timeless, Underwood’s Lies We Sing to the Sea makes an age-old story feel new again. This is Greek tragedy at its best: sweeping in scope yet deeply intimate in characterization. This book will break your heart.”— Grace Li (Sunday Times bestselling author of Portrait of a Thief) “LIES WE SING TO THE SEA is a wondrous tale of love, death, and sacrifice. The vivid characters give depth and adventure to a story with roots in classic Greek mythology.”— Natasha Bowen (New York Times bestselling author of Skin of the Sea) “Sarah Underwood’s classical reimagining is woven with pure magic: salt-laced myths, a plot that slowly unravels like a tapestry, and vivid characters who are destined to steal your heart. A scintillating, beautiful debut.”—Rebecca Ross, internationally bestselling author of A River Enchanted and Sisters of Sword & Song

You may also be interested in...

Better Than the Movies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Tom Gates: Book of Everything
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
The Brothers Hawthorne
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Unravel Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
As Good As Dead Collector's Edition
Added to basket
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Five Survive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Crimson Moth
Added to basket
The Reappearance of Rachel Price
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Heartstopper Volume 5
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback

“I loved it”

Firstly, it’s not a retelling of The Odyssey- I’ve seen so many things saying it is and it isn’t. I’m glad it isn’t! It takes the story of the murder of Penelope’s 12 maids and creates a captivating and unique story-... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 21

“Great Read!”

Thank you to the publishers for this review copy.
This is a fabulous tale of 12 murdered maids from Homer's Odyssey, when I started it I had no real expectations for it but absolutely loved it.
Loved the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

“An absolute must read!”

I was lucky enough to get to read this book, and after the high hopes from the synopsis, I was still blown away! The combination of canon Greek mythology with the ‘curse’ following the events of the Odyssey made for... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: