• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
Lie in Wait: A dark and gripping crime thriller (Paperback)
  • Lie in Wait: A dark and gripping crime thriller (Paperback)
zoom

Lie in Wait: A dark and gripping crime thriller (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 09/03/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A dark, addictive thriller, ingeniously plotted with a twist that will make you gasp, LIE IN WAIT is perfect for readers of Angela Marsons or Rachel Abbott.A man is dead. A woman is missing. And the police have already found their prime suspect... Owen Hall drives into a petrol station to let his passenger use the facilities. She never comes back - and what's more, it seems she never even made it inside.When Owen raises a fuss, the police are called - and soon identify Owen himself as a possible culprit - not least because they already have him in the frame for another more sinister crime.Owen's always been a little different, and before long others in the community are baying for his blood. But this is a case where nothing is as it seems - least of all Owen Hall...See what readers are already saying about LIE IN WAIT"An exciting, twisty read that had me hooked from the first page . . . a brilliant summer read." Lisa Hall, #1 Bestselling author of Between You and Me"This is one incredibly clever novel" Bibliomaniac"A psychological thriller in the purest sense . . . Deeply satisfying" Cleopatra Loves Books"Deserves to be read in one sitting . . . His books are some of the best I've ever had the pleasure to read" The Quiet Knitter"A really clever and complex story. Immensely entertaining" Goodreads review

Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
ISBN: 9781785760587
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 318 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This is an exciting, twisty read that had me hooked from the first page. The characters are unbelievably unreliable which for me, made for a gripping read - I was never quite sure who I wanted to trust, and who was leading me on a merry dance. Combine that with the realisation that ACTUALLY, I had got the characters wrong and my theory about the plot was completely wrong, and basically I HAD EVERYTHING WRONG and this makes for a brilliant summer read * Lisa Hall *
Lie in Wait is a dark thriller, extremely cleverly plotted by the author. G. J. Minett is a very clever writer with a natural ability to tell a story that the reader won't forget in a hurry. Long after you have turned the last page you will still be thinking about Lie in Wait and the complex characters he introduces you to in this dark and twisted journey of a book. A great read, this book will keep you turning the pages long into the night * Nudge Books *
It's the central character of Owen that really stands out. He's nuanced, with a fully realised range of emotions that underlie each situation he finds himself in. Whether it's arguing with the mysterious 'Willie', or falling over himself to please Abi, Owen's actions never fail to move you...With 'Lie In Wait', Minett has again shown that he can craft a clever tale that will keep even die-hard fans of the genre guessing * If These Books Could Talk *
'G. J. Minett is one of my new favorite authors! The Hidden Legacy and Lie in Wait are most definitely must read books! Very intriguing and clever!' * Loud and Proud Book Junkie *
'Complicated. Devious. Conversational....the opening chapter - just like 'The Hidden Legacy' - is superb. Gripping, baffling, a little chilling. Intriguing characters, a clever plot and another gripping opening. I shall look forward to book three!' * Buried Under Books *
What a gripping novel...an intriguing story with the topics as autism, friendship, love and betrayal. Only at the end did I grasp the fullness of what happened and came to understand how the different characters' influences were necessary for the storyline. Lie in Wait is a well-written and cleverly plotted thriller with a disturbing but also moving undercurrent. * Bits About Books *
well written and enjoyed reading the different narratives as they each bring a unique voice to the story. * Charlene Jess *
In a game of cat and mouse, all of the traps are set to catch the murderer and it's an absolutely brilliant game that is played in Lie In Wait. I was so sure that I knew what had happened but I had completely walked past all of the clues, such is the clever style of G.J. Minett's writing....only now, a few days after I have read it, do I realise how very good Lie in Wait actually is. * The Book Magnet *
What a gripping novel! Only at the end did I grasp the fullness of what happened and came to understand how the different characters' influences were necessary for the storyline. Lie in Wait is a well-written and cleverly plotted thriller with a disturbing but also moving undercurrent. * Bits About Books *
Graham Minett offers a dark, gripping, ingeniously-plotted thriller with the publication in paperback of Lie In Wait. * Chichester observer *

You may also be interested in...

The Legacy
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Dark Angel
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
The Couple Next Door
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Need You Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Dark So Deadly
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sirens
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Woman in the Window
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Owl Always Hunts at Night
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Magpie Murders
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Edge of Darkness (The Cincinnati Series Book 4)
Added to basket
Origin
Added to basket
£20.00   £12.99
Hardback
The Thirst
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Witchfinder's Sister
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.