Liberation Square (Paperback)
  • Liberation Square (Paperback)
zoom

Liberation Square (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 22/08/2019
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

1952. Soviet troops control British streets

After the disastrous failure of D-Day, Britain is occupied by Nazi Germany, and only rescued by Russian soldiers arriving from the east and Americans from the west. The two superpowers divide the nation between them, a wall running through London like a scar.

When Jane Cawson calls into her husband's medical practice and detects the perfume worn by his former wife, Lorelei, star of propaganda films for the new Marxist regime, she fears what is between them. But when Jane rushes to confront them, she finds herself instead caught up in the glamorous actress's death.

Nick is soon arrested for murder. Desperate to clear his name, Jane must risk the attention of the brutal secret police as she follows a trail of corruption right to the highest levels of the state.

And she might find she never really knew her husband at all.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781405930611
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Far more than an intellectual exercise - it is a gripping story, with heart * Daily Telegraph, Best Thrillers of the Year *
This richly imagined thriller is set in an alternate past . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world * Sunday Mirror *
An interesting take on the 'What if we'd lost World War II?' debate. A gripping and well-imagined yarn * Sun *
Rubin paints a shocking picture of what might have happened had we lost the Second World War and been invaded first by the Nazis and then the Soviet army. It's an edgy ride, a reminder that we should not take our freedom for granted * Peterborough Evening Telegraph *
A tight and compelling thriller * SFX *
Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland -- David Young, CWA Dagger-winning author of Stasi Child
A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss -- William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier
In the great tradition of SS-GB and Fatherland, Rubin's alternative-1950s murder mystery takes an ingenious premise - the Americans and the Soviets have carved up Britain between them after rescuing the country from the Nazis - and makes it come alive through sheer storytelling skill -- Jake Kerridge
A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant. -- Mason Cross, Richard and Judy bestselling author of The Samaritan
Liberation Square is a superb and intelligent piece of alternate history. By turns gripping, terrifying and trenchant, it is a remarkably assured debut making Rubin's name one to watch out for in the crowded crime landscape -- Stav Sherez, Gold Dagger-winning author of The Intrusions
A brilliantly researched, shockingly plausible thriller set in an alternative Britain -- Claire McGowan
A stunningly plotted debut, that drags you at break-neck-speed through a nightmare alternative world that is eerily realistic. A must read -- Angela Clarke

You may also be interested in...

The Outsider
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dark Sacred Night
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Stranger Diaries
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Catch-22
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Codename Villanelle
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Long Night in Paris
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Crisis
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
You
Added to basket
You
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Prague Spring
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
All That's Dead
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
VOX
Added to basket
VOX
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The President is Missing
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Pieces of Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Lost Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Whispering Stories

“The writing is spot on and the plot is flawless.”

The year is 1952 and World War Two ended seven years ago, but not how we remember it. In Liberation Square, the British lost the war and now the UK has been split into two sections, the Democratic United Kingdom lead... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Cracking read”

This was recommended by a friend and I thoroughly enjoyed it - a clever thriller set in a vividly imagined post-war Soviet England, or rather ‘Republic of Great Britain’. In this alternate universe, Blunt, Philby and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Thrilling Alt History”

An engrossing thriller that's very pacey - I couldn't stop reading. The plot is highly original and will keep you guessing until the last few pages.

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.