Liberation Square (Hardback)
  • Liberation Square (Hardback)
zoom

Liberation Square (Hardback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 18/04/2019
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

'This richly imagined thriller is set in an alternate past . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world' Sunday Mirror

'A gripping story, with heart' Best thrillers of 2019, Daily Telegraph

It's 1952 and Soviet troops control British streets after winning the Second World War.

After the disastrous failure of D-Day, Britain is occupied by Nazi Germany, and only rescued by Russian soldiers arriving from the east and Americans from the west. The two superpowers divide the nation between them, a wall running through London like a scar.

On the Soviet side of the wall, Jane Cawson calls into her husband's medical practice, hoping to surprise him. But instead she detects the perfume worn by his former wife, Lorelei, star of propaganda films for the new Marxist regime.

Jane rushes to confront them, but soon finds herself caught up in the glamorous actress's death.

Her husband Nick is arrested for murder. Desperate to clear his name, Jane must risk the attention of the brutal secret police as she follows a trail of corruption right to the highest levels of the state.

And she might find she never really knew her husband at all.
___________

'A gripping and well-imagined yarn' Sun

'A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain . . . One not to miss' William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier

'A superb and intelligent piece of alternate history. By turns gripping, terrifying and trenchant, it is a remarkably assured debut' Stav Sherez, author of The Intrusions

'A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant' Mason Cross, bestselling author of The Samaritan

'A brilliantly researched, shockingly plausible thriller' Claire McGowan, author of The Fall

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780718187095
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 629 g
Dimensions: 240 x 156 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Gripping alternative history . . . Ingeniously plotted, with storytelling that's full of heart * Daily Telegraph *
This richly imagined thriller is set in an alternate past . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world * Sunday Mirror *
A taut, psychological thriller with a plausible twist, Rubin's debut novel does not disappoint . . . an extraordinary but believable tale of corruption, power play and black-market racketeering . . . Well researched and imaginative, Rubin's alternative history novel creates an eerie landscape full of menace . . . Writing with panache and creative flair, Rubin breathes credibility into a disturbing 'what if' scenario. Chilling and intriguing in equal measures * The Lady *
An interesting take on the 'What if we'd lost World War II?' debate. A gripping and well-imagined yarn * Sun *
Rubin paints a shocking picture of what might have happened had we lost the Second World War and been invaded first by the Nazis and then the Soviet army. It's an edgy ride, a reminder that we should not take our freedom for granted * Peterborough Evening Telegraph *
Far more than an intellectual exercise - it is a gripping story, with heart * Daily Telegraph, Best Thrillers of the Year *
A riveting story of betrayal, corruption and dark secrets, set against the backdrop of a divided Britain * Choice Magazine *
A tight and compelling thriller * SFX *
Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland
A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss
In the great tradition of SS-GB and Fatherland, Rubin's alternative-1950s murder mystery takes an ingenious premise - the Americans and the Soviets have carved up Britain between them after rescuing the country from the Nazis - and makes it come alive through sheer storytelling skill
A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant.
Liberation Square is a superb and intelligent piece of alternate history. By turns gripping, terrifying and trenchant, it is a remarkably assured debut making Rubin's name one to watch out for in the crowded crime landscape
A brilliantly researched, shockingly plausible thriller set in an alternative Britain
A stunningly plotted debut, that drags you at break-neck-speed through a nightmare alternative world that is eerily realistic. A must read

You may also be interested in...

The Law of Innocence
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Guardians
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
A Silent Death
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Daylight
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
How the Dead Speak
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The President's Daughter
Added to basket
When Shadows Fall
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“The cold war but not as you know it..”

The D Day landings were a disaster and the Nazis conquered Britain. The Soviets continued to fight and conquered Western Europe and drove the Nazis from southern England whilst the US liberated the rest of Britian.... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 15
Whispering Stories

“The writing is spot on and the plot is flawless.”

The year is 1952 and World War Two ended seven years ago, but not how we remember it. In Liberation Square, the British lost the war and now the UK has been split into two sections, the Democratic United Kingdom lead... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

“Cracking read”

This was recommended by a friend and I thoroughly enjoyed it - a clever thriller set in a vividly imagined post-war Soviet England, or rather ‘Republic of Great Britain’. In this alternate universe, Blunt, Philby and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.