Liar's Candle (Hardback)
  • Liar's Candle (Hardback)
zoom

Liar's Candle (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 17/05/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
In this brilliant debut thriller, set in the US embassy in Turkey, one young woman finds herself at the centre of a deadly plot and marked for death ... An intelligent, fast-paced spy novel for fans of Olen Steinhauser and Joseph Kanon.

SHE IS THE WOMAN WHO KNOWS TOO MUCH ...

Penny Kessler,
a young intern at the U.S. Embassy in Ankara, Turkey, wakes up in a hospital on the morning of July 5th to find herself at the centre of an international crisis. The day before, the Embassy had been the target of a devastating terrorist attack that killed hundreds of Penny's friends and colleagues. Not only has a photograph of Penny emerging from the rubble become the defining image of the event (#TheGirlwiththeFlag), but for reasons she doesn't understand, her bosses believe she's a crucial witness.

Suddenly, everyone is desperately interested in what Penny knows. But what does she know? And who can she trust? As she struggles to piece together her memories of the event, she discovers that Zach Robson, the young diplomat she's been falling for all summer, went missing during the attack. Now his boss at the CIA, Christina Ekdahl, wants people to believe that Zach was a traitor.

In a race to keep from being killed and to uncover the truth, Penny reluctantly partners with Connor Beauregard, a rookie CIA officer on his first overseas assignment. But the two won't survive unless they can outwit - and outmaneuver - everyone from the Turkish president and his daughter to Islamic extremists, to the US State Department, to the CIA itself.

Praise for Liar's Candle

'Stunning...a novel that brings the le Carre and Follett traditions into the 21st century. Breakneck pacing, sharply observed detail, an all-too-plausible plot, and a protagonist to cheer for' Joseph Finder

'A high-energy thriller...The tension and relentless action ratchet higher from the very first chapter to the climatic ending as one terrifying escape follows the next and everywhere friends and foes change places. Thomas has eerily evoked not only the intrigue and brutality of terrorism in Turkey, but the country itself' Paul Vidich

'Tightly-plotted, well-written, and astute, Liar's Candle is a remarkable debut' Lisa Unger

'August Thomas is a fresh, exciting new voice in international thrillers' Chris Pavone

'A propulsive, heart-in-your-throat thriller that's loaded with unexpected twists and turns.... LIAR'S CANDLE is a shockingly good debut novel' Daniel Kalla

'Liar's Candle blends the infinity-of-mirrors intrigue of an espionage page-turner with the thrills of an adventure movie' Wall Street Journal

'Assured, informed and fast-moving, this novel treads between action, jeopardy and politics, catapulting its unheroic protagonist into situations where she has only her wits and guts to negotiate escalating danger' Bridget Lawless

'...there are clever twists - not least a gripping end game... A chilling tale of modern warfare' The Lady

'The set-up is clever and well-done and presages much in the way of intrigue, betrayal and eventual explanations and Penny herself has great potential as a character' CrimeTime

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471166457
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 234 x 153 x 26 mm

An Evening with August Thomas

An Evening with August Thomas

Newton Mearns
Monday 1st October 19:00 - 20:00

Waterstones Newton Mearns presents an evening with August Thomas. We're thrilled to have debut author August Thomas over from the USA to talk about her novel 'Liar's Candle'. In this brilliant debut thriller, reminiscent of the works of John le Carre and Olen Steinhauer and infused with the authenticity of the author's travels, a young American State Department intern based in Turkey becomes "the woman who knows too much" and is marked for death. Please join us on Monday the 1st of October at Primavera Bistro from 7-8pm for what is sure to be a fantastic event.

View

You may also be interested in...

A Column of Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
End Game
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Legacy of Spies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Fox
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Origin
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
NYPD Red 5
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Munich
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
London Rules
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
I Invited Her In
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Our House
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.