Lessons in Chemistry: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Lessons in Chemistry: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Lessons in Chemistry: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Lessons in Chemistry: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Lessons in Chemistry: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
zoom
Lessons in Chemistry: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback) Lessons in Chemistry: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback) Lessons in Chemistry: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)

Lessons in Chemistry: Signed Exclusive Edition (Hardback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99 £12.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 05/04/2022
  • Save £2.00
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Deftly subversive and delightfully uplifting, Garmus' 60s set debut features an unconventional female scientist with a quiet game-plan to change the world.

Signed Exclusive Edition - with exclusive stencilled edges, end papers and under board printing plus an exclusive extra scene

A Standard Edition is available here

'Your ability to change everything - including yourself - starts here' - Elizabeth Zott

Chemist Elizabeth Zott is not your average woman. In fact, Elizabeth Zott would be the first to point out that there is no such thing.

But it's the early 1960s and her all-male team at Hastings Research Institute take a very unscientific view of equality. Except for one: Calvin Evans; the lonely, brilliant, Nobel-prize nominated grudge-holder who falls in love with - of all things - her mind. True chemistry results.

But like science, life is unpredictable. Which is why a few years later, Elizabeth Zott finds herself not only a single mother, but the reluctant star of America's most beloved cooking show Supper at Six. Elizabeth's unusual approach to cooking ('combine one tablespoon acetic acid with a pinch of sodium chloride') proves revolutionary. But as her following grows, not everyone is happy. Because as it turns out, Elizabeth Zott isn't just teaching women to cook. She's daring them to change the status quo.

Meet the unconventional, uncompromising Elizabeth Zott.

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 2928377081034
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 350 g
Dimensions: 222 x 138 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Lessons in Chemistry is a breath of fresh air - a witty, propulsive, and refreshingly hopeful novel populated with singular characters. This book is an utter delight - wry, warm and compulsively readable' - Clare Lombardo, author of The Most Fun We Ever Had

'Original, fresh, tender, funny and warm. The story dances and swirls, captivating the reader from the first page. Elizabeth Zott is the most wonderful character. Just fantastic' - Sinead Moriarty

'A timeless book. Elizabeth Zott is an iconic heroine - a feminist who refuses to be quashed, a mother who believes that her child is a person to behold, rather than to mould, and who will leave you, and the lens through which you see the world, quite changed' - Pandora Sykes

'On par with Beth Harmon of The Queen's Gambit, Elizabeth Zott swept me away with her intellect, honesty, and unapologetic selfhood. Lessons in Chemistry is a story for all the smart girls who refuse to dumb themselves down despite a culture that demands otherwise. Though a creation of the 50s & 60s, Zott is a feminist icon for our time' - Rachel Yoder, author of Nightbitch

'A book that sparks joy with every page. Lessons in Chemistry is both funny and rousing: it had me laughing one minute and air-punching the next. Bonnie Garmus has created an unforgettable heroine' - Elizabeth Day

'It's the world versus Elizabeth Zott, an extraordinary woman determined to live on her own terms, and I had no trouble choosing a side. Lessons in Chemistry is a page-turning and highly satisfying tale: zippy, zesty, and Zotty' - Maggie Shipstead, author of Great Circle

'A transporting read, recommended for fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette and The Marvellous Mrs Maisel' - Stylist Magazine, 'Books you cannot miss in 2022'

You may also be interested in...

The Virgin Suicides
Added to basket
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Manningtree Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mrs England
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
Dan at Cribbs Causeway Store

“Meet Elizabeth Zott!”

Chemist Elizabeth Zott is not your average woman. In fact, Elizabeth Zott would be the first to point out that there is no such thing.
Equality. Such a foreign word to those working at Hastings Research in the early... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 5
Penelope Bullock

“An true feminist novel with an awe inspiring heroine.”

Brilliant! An original and refreshing novel, that introduces a fabulous character in Elizabeth Zott. I flew through this book, eating up every page and cheering on the characters. A true feminist novel with a truly... More

Hardback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Fantastic!”

historical-novel, historical-research, history-and-culture, misogynistic-era, honesty, love, childhood-trauma, child, dog, 1950s, 1960s, chemist, assault, situational-humor, verbal-humor, falsely accused,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.