Legends of the North Cascades (Hardback)
  • Legends of the North Cascades (Hardback)
zoom

Legends of the North Cascades (Hardback)

(author)
£20.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 05/07/2021
  • In stock

UK delivery within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
"Beautifully rendered and cinematic . . . A story of survival and the love and devotion between parent and child." -Jill McCorkle, author of Hieroglyphics

Dave Cartwright has had enough. After three tours in Iraq he has come home to Vigilante Falls in Washington State only to find that he feels incapable of connecting to the people and the place that once defined him. Most days, his love for his seven-year-old daughter, Bella, is the only thing keeping him going. When tragedy strikes, Dave makes a dramatic decision: he will take Bella to live in a cave in the wilderness of the North Cascades.

So begins a compelling adventure, a story of a father and daughter attempting to cope with a breathtaking but harsh environment. Once they are settled in the cave, Bella retreats into a different world, that of a mother and son who had lived in that same space, but thousands of years before, at the end of last Ice Age. As the two dramas begin to merge, a timeless odyssey unfolds, both as a meditation on the perils of isolation and an exploration of humans' indelible struggle to survive.

Perfect for readers of Peter Heller's novels or Kristin Hannah's The Great Alone, Legends of the North Cascades is Jonathan Evison's return to sweeping, multicharacter narratives like his New York Times bestseller West of Here and is an immensely satisfying read.

Publisher: Algonquin Books (division of Workman)
ISBN: 9781643750101
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 229 x 152 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Virgin Suicides
Added to basket
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
My Year of Rest and Relaxation
Added to basket
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
The Spanish Love Deception
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lincoln Highway
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Daisy Jones and The Six
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Change of Circumstance
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Oh William!
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.