Legendborn: Signed Bookplate Edition (Paperback)
  • Legendborn: Signed Bookplate Edition (Paperback)
zoom

Legendborn: Signed Bookplate Edition (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 15/09/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A rollicking fusion of magical fantasy and campus novel, Deonn’s debut features secretive societies, flying demons and teenage mages locked in a deadly battle between good and evil.

Signed Bookplate Edition

A standard edition is available here.

Filled with mystery and Southern Black Girl Magic, Tracy Deonn's New York Times bestselling Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend. This is an explosive fantasy debut that's perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare, Leigh Bardugo, Sarah J. Maas and Cinderella is Dead!

SOME LEGACIES ARE MEANT TO BE BROKEN.

After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants to escape. A residential programme for bright high-schoolers seems like the perfect opportunity - until she witnesses a magical attack her very first night on campus . . .

A flying demon feeding on human energies.

A secret society of so-called "Legendborn" that hunt the creatures down.

A mysterious mage who calls himself a "Merlin" and who attempts - and fails - to wipe Bree's memory of everything she saw.

The mage's failure unlocks Bree's own unique magic and a buried memory about her mother. Now Bree will do whatever it takes to discover the truth, even infiltrate the Legendborn. But when the Legendborn reveal themselves as the descendants of King Arthur's knights and foretell a magical war, Bree must decide how far she'll go for the truth. Should she use her magic to take the society down - or join the fight?

Winner of the Coretta Scott King - John Steptoe for New Talent Author Award

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 2928377050993
Number of pages: 512
Dimensions: 198 x 130 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A King Arthur reimagining that adds seats to the roundtable, inviting new readers to find themselves within its lore, Tracy Deonn's Legendborn braids southern folk traditions and Black Girl Magic into a searing modern tale of grief, power and self-discovery. -- Dhonielle Clayton
Legendborn is an enthralling, standout modern fantasy about history and power, and Deonn is an author to watch. -- Kiersten White
Legendborn is intoxicating, electrifying, and resonates with a deep understanding and vulnerable adoration of what it is to be a Black girl searching for the magic of herself. Tracy Deonn captivates you from page one with her perfect pacing, exhilarating plotting, and a command of storytelling that cannot be ignored. This book will hold everything you are hostage until, page by page, you discover how it has actually set you free. -- L. L. McKinney
Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Kiersten White, Tracy Deonn's unique reimagining of Arthurian legend is full of magic and heart. A brilliant debut! -- Ashley Poston
It takes a special talent to breathe fresh life into Arthurian legend, but Deonn does it with ease in this fast-paced tale * i News? *
This is the fantasy novel for all once and future fans of suspense-filled storytelling * Kirkus Reviews *
A promising series debut perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare's City of Bones and Maggie Stiefvater's The Raven Boys. This book underscores the movement for more inclusive versions of traditional Western narratives, and will be a favourite of contemporary fantasy readers. Highly recommended * School Library Journal STARRED REVIEW *
explores themes of ancestral pain, grief and love, balancing them with stimulating world-building and multiple thrilling plot twists * Publishers Weekly *
An intoxicating mix of Southern Black traditions, the King Arthur mythos and teenage melodrama. * Tor.com *
Legendborn is a thrilling and tense fantasy that weaves Arthurian adventure with southern Black culture into a story that had me shouting. It will hook readers from the very beginning and leave them breathless until the final, mind-blowing revelation -- Kwame Mbalia
Legendborn is a remarkable debut that should firmly place Tracy Deonn on every fantasy and contemporary YA reader's radar. Deft and insightful blending of Arthurian legend and Southern Black American history make for an engrossing tale of mystery, romance, and finding your place in the world? - an absolute must-read! -- Alyssa Cole
[R]ich and explosive debut. * School Library Journal, starred review *
Legendborn establishes Deonn as an important new voice in YA. * Bookpage, starred review *
Deonn's contemporary fantasy is a cultural gem that will connect readers with their roots in the most gut-punching, unapologetic of ways. * Booklist, starred review *
Legendborn is about to be your new favorite book. * Nerdist *

You may also be interested in...

Dead or Alive
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Any Way the Wind Blows
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Ickabog
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Smeds and the Smoos
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Danger Gang
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn's Birthday
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
The Girl of Ink & Stars
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
Rule of Wolves (King of Scars Book 2)
Added to basket
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket

“Unique YA fantasy”

I loved the TV show Merlin when I was younger and while I have some Arthurian retellings on my TBR, I have never actually read one. Both the cover and the premise made me want to dive in.

The book follows... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“A must read!”

Legendborn by Tracy Deonn

So I received a copy from NetGalley to read, and by page 50 I had ordered my own copy to support the author as I LOVED it! I knew I would be fangirling over this book and want my own copy... More

Paperback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 7

“Best Arthurian Book ever!”

As I’m in the process of writing my MA dissertation on modern reinterpretations of medieval mythology and legends, I have read an awful lot of them over the course of the last few months, so please trust me when I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.