Leeward - Nightingale & Courtney (Hardback)
  • Leeward - Nightingale & Courtney (Hardback)
zoom

Leeward - Nightingale & Courtney (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 352 Pages
Published: 11/05/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

For whatever we lose, it is our self we find in the sea.‘The best swashbuckler of the year ... There are echoes of Horatio Hornblower in Nightingale’s introspection and doubts. The gay love story is beautifully written and the evocation of life on board the Scylla is equally good’ The Times ‘An extraordinary work, absolutely breathtaking ... it beggars belief’ Conn Iggulden, New York Times & Sunday Times bestselling author‘Achingly beautiful. A delightful, romantic, queer historical adventure’ Mackenzi Lee, New York Times bestselling author

Captain Hiram Nightingale is a veteran of the wars which have raged throughout Europe and the Americas. But a grand victory at the Battle of the Nile in 1798 comes at a devastating cost. Plagued by wounds both physical and mental, he attempts to recover by accepting command of HMS Scylla. His task is to hunt down a mutinous ship and bring the crew to justice.

However, it soon becomes clear that the mission is just one danger in an immense web. Nightingale finds himself in the middle of a network of secrets that will affect everyone onboard the Scylla. He has to battle against the perils of the war-torn seas, a crew who he fears does not accept him, and meddling, powerful figures from his past.

And in the centre of all this, his new lieutenant, the popular Arthur Courtney, stirs up long repressed feelings. On his journey, Nightingale must confront his own demons. For it seems, during his dangerous adventure, his greatest enemy might just be himself.

A deeply poignant tale of naval warfare, political intrigue and a love between two men that stands tall in an unaccepting world. Perfect for fans of Hornblower, Sharpe and Outlander.

Praise for Leeward

‘There is a weight of human insight here that is quite dazzling. A story told with such panache deserves a bestseller mass audience’ Conn Iggulden

‘One of the best debut novels I have read in many years. A magnificent, compelling read’ Ben Kane, Sunday Times bestselling author

‘Profound, intricate, artful. A truly original story of forbidden love and adventure. I urge you to sail into the storm!’ A. J. West, Sunday Times bestselling author

‘A stunning book. In an utterly authentic voice, Katie Daysh brings to life the terrifying power of the sea, and the bonds of both love and duty that tie a captain to his ship’ Damion Hunter, author of Shadow of the Eagle

Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 9781804364048
Number of pages: 352
Dimensions: 234 x 156 x 30 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Far Side of the World
Added to basket
The Surgeon’s Mate
Added to basket
Sharpe’s Tiger
Added to basket
A Town Like Alice
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Harlequin
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Desolation Island
Added to basket
The Fort
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Das Boot
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Sharpe’s Prey
Added to basket
Treason’s Harbour
Added to basket
Sharpe’s Triumph
Added to basket
Sharpe’s Havoc
Added to basket
Sharpe’s Rifles
Added to basket
The Mauritius Command
Added to basket

“A beautiful and deeply immersive read.”

Firstly, I want to urge anyone here to please pick up this book! It was such an immense pleasure to read, the characters are all so well-written, and Daysh’s writing style drew me in immediately. Closing the book... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A gripping and modern nautical adventure”

4.5

Leeward is a fantastically fresh and engaging entry into one of my favourite genres, and one which stands comparison with the likes of O'Brian and Forester. Daysh crafts a compelling world full of... More

Paperback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: