Leaving Pico (Paperback)
  • Leaving Pico (Paperback)
zoom

Leaving Pico (Paperback)

(author)
£17.00
Paperback 224 Pages / Published: 01/05/2001
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
In the tradition of Rudolfo Anaya's Bless Me, Ultima or Leslie Marmon Silko's Ceremony, poet Frank X. Gaspar has crafted a beautifully written coming-of-age-in-ethnic-America novel set in the Portuguese community of Provincetown, Massachusetts. For narrator Josie Carvalho, a single summer brings great loss and abrupt change, but also a new understanding of his place in the world. In the insular Portuguese fishing community of the Cape, Josie's life has been shaped by the annual influx of summer tourists (who are largely oblivious of the locals), and his great aunt Theophila's fervent if idiosyncratic Catholicism (she has visions and keeps a private shrine to the saints). The community is also sharply divided between the Picos like himself (whose ancestors hailed from the Azores) and the Lisbons (whose forebears came directly from the old country). The counterweight to these forces has been the boy's relationship with his grandfather John Joseph, a drunk, clam-poaching old man who is nevertheless a sly and tricksterish master storyteller. Josie's shaky religious faith receives a jolt when he prays that his unwed mother might find a husband, and a stranger named Carmine arrives from New Bedford and begins to call on her. His mother's relationship with the Lisbon Carmine soon disrupts the family's equilibrium and throws their lives into conflict. Josie finds himself divided in his loyalties and upset over what he fears is his responsibility for the trouble. His grandfather comes to his aid with a healing narrative, a magical act of storytelling that lifts him out of the present and into a heroic past. Over a series of nights, John Joseph, Scheherazade-like, spins the colorful and adventurous story of their ancestor, Francisco Carvalho, a Portuguese explorer who just may have beaten Columbus to the New World. With the guidance of his grandfather's obscure but inspired stories, Josie begins to find new ways of understanding his relationship to his family and to the world.

Publisher: University Press of New England
ISBN: 9781584651352
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 281 g
Dimensions: 216 x 140 x 17 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This is a lovely little slice of genre history. Unlike Wells s Time Machine, however, the primary mode of Gaspar s time travel fable is wry wit this is the sort of book that contains a chapter entitled The Best One; Not Because It s Better but Because It s Last and a generous helping of outright farce. The Time Ship makes for an entertaining and in places gleefully subversive read, and it offers a window onto an area of both nineteenth-century Spanish culture and the history of the genre that I knew little about. Thanks are due to Wesleyan University Press for supporting its publication, and to all involved for bringing it back to light for modern SF fans. Strange Horizons"
[A] simple and satisfying first novel . . . Gaspar's novel is an expert portrait of the Portuguese immigrant experience, from its resistance to full integration. New York Times Book Review"

You may also be interested in...

A Discovery of Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Love is Blind
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
After the Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Transcription
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
A Question of Trust
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Wild Fire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.