Landfall (Paperback)
  • Landfall (Paperback)
zoom

Landfall (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 224 Pages / Published: 26/07/2012
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Check availability At your local shop
For fans of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides, Landfall is a clear-eyed, witty and warm debut novel by former Granta editor Helen Gordon, that marks the arrival of a major new literary talent. Alice Robinson, art critic for a magazine so fashionable it's just gone out of business, finds herself agreeing to housesit for her parents. Moving back home to a suburbia she thought long behind her, she finds herself reconnecting with a different landscape, a fraught and painful past. For everywhere Alice turns she finds traces of her sister, who went missing as a teenager. Can she stop her old life intruding on the present? Should she even try? What does Alice's new future look like? 'An intriguing novel . . . a hipster version of Margaret Atwood's Surfacing' Metro 'A memorable novel. I loved the pace and verve of Alice's voyage from Shoreditch to suburbia, and the unexpectedness of the story as it swerves past the familiar into a dangerous and beautiful unknown' Helen Dunmore 'Compulsively readable' Independent on Sunday 'Fine writing . . . wrapped in an arresting evocation of timelessness' Guardian 'Brooding and haunting' Tatler 'Uplifting, witty, wonderfully unsettling' Psychologies 'Beautifully descriptive, with a cliff-hanger finale' Easy Living Helen Gordon was born in 1979 and grew up in Croydon. She currently lives in east London and is a former associate editor of Granta magazine. Landfall is her first novel.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241954423
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 204 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Quirky, compelling, unpredictable . . . layers peel away almost imperceptibly and the ending is surreal yet believable * The Times *
A charming and compelling novel * Observer *
For the most part it's an uplifting, witty tale, but the ending is wonderfully unsettling, forcing us to consider whether the guidelines we follow really will lead to a more satisfying life * Psychologies *
Compulsively readable, with a silky smooth pace * Independent *
A memorable novel. I loved the pace and verve of Alice's voyage from Shoreditch to suburbia, and the unexpectedness of the story as it swerves past the familiar into a dangerous and beautiful unknown -- Helen Dunmore
An intriguing debut . . . Landfall takes a gratifying left field swerve * Metro *
Written with pluck and humour * Independent *
Beautifully descriptive, with a cliff-hanger finale * Easy Living *

You may also be interested in...

The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
After the Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
I Invited Her In
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Three Things About Elsie
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Uncommon Type
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.