Landfall (Paperback)
  • Landfall (Paperback)
zoom

Landfall (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 224 Pages / Published: 26/07/2012
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 15 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

For fans of Jeffrey Eugenides's The Virgin Suicides, Landfall is a clear-eyed, witty and warm debut novel by former Granta editor Helen Gordon, that marks the arrival of a major new literary talent.

Alice Robinson, art critic for a magazine so fashionable it's just gone out of business, finds herself agreeing to housesit for her parents. Moving back home to a suburbia she thought long behind her, she finds herself reconnecting with a different landscape, a fraught and painful past.

For everywhere Alice turns she finds traces of her sister, who went missing as a teenager. Can she stop her old life intruding on the present? Should she even try? What does Alice's new future look like?

'An intriguing novel . . . a hipster version of Margaret Atwood's Surfacing' Metro

'A memorable novel. I loved the pace and verve of Alice's voyage from Shoreditch to suburbia, and the unexpectedness of the story as it swerves past the familiar into a dangerous and beautiful unknown' Helen Dunmore

'Compulsively readable' Independent on Sunday

'Fine writing . . . wrapped in an arresting evocation of timelessness' Guardian

'Brooding and haunting' Tatler

'Uplifting, witty, wonderfully unsettling' Psychologies

'Beautifully descriptive, with a cliff-hanger finale' Easy Living

Helen Gordon was born in 1979 and grew up in Croydon. She currently lives in east London and is a former associate editor of Granta magazine. Landfall is her first novel.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241954423
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 200 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 15 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Quirky, compelling, unpredictable . . . layers peel away almost imperceptibly and the ending is surreal yet believable * The Times *
A charming and compelling novel * Observer *
For the most part it's an uplifting, witty tale, but the ending is wonderfully unsettling, forcing us to consider whether the guidelines we follow really will lead to a more satisfying life * Psychologies *
Compulsively readable, with a silky smooth pace * Independent *
A memorable novel. I loved the pace and verve of Alice's voyage from Shoreditch to suburbia, and the unexpectedness of the story as it swerves past the familiar into a dangerous and beautiful unknown -- Helen Dunmore
An intriguing debut . . . Landfall takes a gratifying left field swerve * Metro *
Written with pluck and humour * Independent *
Beautifully descriptive, with a cliff-hanger finale * Easy Living *

You may also be interested in...

Grown Ups
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Because of You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Law of Innocence
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Exciting Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Home Stretch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Strawberry Thief
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.