Land of the High Flags: Afghanistan When the Going Was Good (Paperback)
  • Land of the High Flags: Afghanistan When the Going Was Good (Paperback)
zoom

Land of the High Flags: Afghanistan When the Going Was Good (Paperback)

(author)
£12.95
Paperback 360 Pages / Published: 01/09/2007
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
When the going was good, a young American woman travelled to the then-remote country of Afghanistan. A classic memoir in the tradition of Rebecca West, Rosanne Klass' "Land of the High Flags" is an insightful account of the land and its proud people. She was the first woman to teach boys from the country's villages, at a time when Afghan women were still kept hidden behind veils. Klass writes of Afghan traditions, of stark, splendid landscapes, and of the enduring friendships she made at a time when Afghanistan was reaching out to a hopeful future. Hailed by critics when it first appeared, this reissue of a classic includes additional new sections telling of her return to Afghanistan as a journalist - and of what became of the friends she brought to life for her readers. This is a vivid portrait of Afghanistan as it was before Afghan life was blasted into ruins like the great Buddhas of Bamian by the wars and the Taliban.

Publisher: Odyssey Publications,Hong Kong
ISBN: 9789622177864
Number of pages: 360
Weight: 626 g
Dimensions: 210 x 152 x 26 mm

You may also be interested in...

Stories for Boys Who Dare to be Different
Added to basket
Eye Can Write
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Let The Good Times Roll
Added to basket
A Life of My Own
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Everything I Know About Love
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Secret Barrister
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Good Night Stories For Rebel Girls 2
Added to basket
Notes on a Nervous Planet
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Poverty Safari
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls
Added to basket
In Your Defence
Added to basket
£16.99   £10.99
Hardback
I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death
Added to basket
Reasons to Stay Alive
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
First Man In
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Adventures of a Young Naturalist
Added to basket
This is Going to Hurt
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.