Kindred (Paperback)
  • Kindred (Paperback)
zoom

Kindred (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99 £6.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 03/05/2018
  • Save £2.00
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Octavia E. Butler's 1979 masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. With an original foreword by Ayobami Adebayo.

'[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human' - New York Times

In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave.

When Dana first meets Rufus on a Maryland plantation, he's drowning. She saves his life - and it will happen again and again.

Neither of them understands his power to summon her whenever his life is threatened, nor the significance of the ties that bind them.

And each time Dana saves him, the more aware she is that her own life might be over before it's even begun.

Octavia E. Butler's ground-breaking masterpiece is the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472258229
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Butler's prose, always pared back to the bone, delineates the painful paradoxes of metamorphosis with compelling precision' - Guardian

'[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human' - New York Times 

'No novel I've read this year has felt as relevant, as gut-wrenching or as essential... If you've ever tweeted #AllLivesMatter, someone needs to shove Kindred into your hand, and quickly' - The Pool 

'Kindred is that rare magical artifact . . . the novel one returns to, again and again' - Harlan Ellison

'One of the most original, thought-provoking works examining race and identity.' - Los Angeles Times 

You may also be interested in...

Ready Player One
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Fall of Gondolin
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Mermaid
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Rotherweird
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Vox
Added to basket
Vox
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Fahrenheit 451
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Artemis
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
The Wolf (The UNDER THE NORTHERN SKY Series, Book 1)
Added to basket
The History of Bees
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Power
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“Thought provoking ”

Kindred is part historical fiction/part science fiction. Normally I am not keen on time travelling stories but this one seemed to work.
This story follows Dana a modern black woman who travels back in time to pre... More

Paperback edition
27th April 2018
Helpful? Upvote 32

“A superb science-fiction novel.”

Dana, a young woman from 1976, finds herself transported back in time to 19th century Maryland. Dana meets a young boy called Rufus and realises he is the reason she is brought to this time period. Her husband, Kevin,... More

Paperback edition
3rd June 2014
Helpful? Upvote 25

“Favourite SF book by far”

This was the first SF book I'd ever read--I was around 14 at the time--and it's stayed with me since. It takes you to a place of humility, necessity, and fear--in a phrase, slavery.

Think Neil Gaiman meets... More

Paperback edition
24th March 2014
Helpful? Upvote 21

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.