Ts&Cs apply
Kindred (Paperback)
  • Kindred (Paperback)
zoom

Kindred (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 320 Pages
Published: 03/05/2018
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

An intellectually and emotionally profound meditation on the prejudices of the past and the ambiguous march of progress, Butler’s stunning time-travel narrative sees a Black woman thrown through points in history where her very presence could sign her death warrant.

Octavia E. Butler's 1979 masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. With an original foreword by Ayobami Adebayo.

'[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human' - New York Times

In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave.

When Dana first meets Rufus on a Maryland plantation, he's drowning. She saves his life - and it will happen again and again.

Neither of them understands his power to summon her whenever his life is threatened, nor the significance of the ties that bind them.

And each time Dana saves him, the more aware she is that her own life might be over before it's even begun.

Octavia E. Butler's ground-breaking masterpiece is the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472258229
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 230 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

One of the most significant literary artists of the twentieth century. One cannot exaggerate the impact she has had - Junot Diaz

Butler's prose, always pared back to the bone, delineates the painful paradoxes of metamorphosis with compelling precision - Guardian

A dark, compelling and still horribly resonant time travel story - Independent

[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human - New York Times

No novel I've read this year has felt as relevant, as gut-wrenching or as essential... If you've ever tweeted "All Lives Matter", someone needs to shove Kindred into your hand, and quickly - The Pool

Kindred is that rare magical artifact . . . the novel one returns to, again and again - Harlan Ellison

One cannot finish Kindred without feeling changed. It is a shattering work of art - Los Angeles Herald-Examiner

[A] must-read novel - BBC

Everyone should read at least one novel by the grand dame of science fiction, and Kindred is a perfect (and harrowing and disturbing and brilliant) place to start - Refinery 29

The immediate effect of reading Octavia Butler's Kindred is to make every other time travel book in the world look as if it's wimping out... This is a brilliant book, utterly absorbing, very well written, and deeply distressing. It's very hard to read, not because it's not good but because it's so good - Tor

A searing, caustic examination of bizarre and alien practices on the third planet from the sun - Kirkus

One of the most original, thought-provoking works examining race and identity - Los Angeles Times

Impossible to turn away from once you've devoured the first few pages - Starburst

If you haven't read Butler, you don't yet understand how rich the possibilities of science fiction can be - Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction

Butler's books are exceptional - Village Voice

Few writers in our field are so good at blending page-turners with philosophical questions so seamlessly - Cory Doctorow

You may also be interested in...

Spectacular
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Before We Say Goodbye
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
House of Flame and Shadow
Added to basket
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Familiar
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi
Added to basket
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Lady Macbeth
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
The Three-Body Problem
Added to basket
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Ferryman
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Throne of Secrets
Added to basket
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback

“Thought provoking ”

Kindred is part historical fiction/part science fiction. Normally I am not keen on time travelling stories but this one seemed to work.
This story follows Dana a modern black woman who travels back in time to pre... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 147

“A superb science-fiction novel.”

Dana, a young woman from 1976, finds herself transported back in time to 19th century Maryland. Dana meets a young boy called Rufus and realises he is the reason she is brought to this time period. Her husband, Kevin,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 94

“Favourite SF book by far”

This was the first SF book I'd ever read--I was around 14 at the time--and it's stayed with me since. It takes you to a place of humility, necessity, and fear--in a phrase, slavery.

Think Neil Gaiman meets... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 90

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: