Keep Dancing, Lizzie Chu (Paperback)
  • Keep Dancing, Lizzie Chu (Paperback)
zoom

Keep Dancing, Lizzie Chu (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 240 Pages
Published: 09/06/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Keep trying, keep laughing, keep dancing! A heart-warming novel from the Blue Peter Book Award shortlisted author of DANNY CHUNG DOES NOT DO MATHS Twelve-year-old Lizzie Chu lives in Glasgow with her grandad Wai Gong, and he's been acting a little strange lately. He is becoming forgetful, and spends a lot of time talking to his statue of Guan Yin - the Chinese goddess of compassion, kindness and mercy. Lizzie is worried about Wai Gong, but doesn't really know what to do to help him. She's already got a lot on her plate with caring for him, doing the shopping and everything else on top of schoolwork and the usual trials of being twelve! Then Lizzie comes up with a madcap plan. She's going to take Wai Gong on the trip of a lifetime, to Blackpool - to the Tower Ballroom, where he always longed to go, to dance with his late wife Grandma Kam. To rekindle that love for dancing and to see if Wai Gong can find his mojo again. The only problem is - just how on earth is she going to get him there? With a little help from her friends Chi and Tyler, some ingenious costumes and an older brother with a beat-up Mini, Lizzie might just make it - and maybe she will be able to help Wai Gong get better after all? A moving, humorous, and uplifting intergenerational story for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Benjamin Dean.

Publisher: Bonnier Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781800781610
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 179 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 14 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'Keep Dancing, Lizzie Chu is brimming with kindness, humour and lovable characters. The story of Lizzie and the obstacles she overcomes to help her grandfather had me laughing out loud on one page and welling up on the next. Maisie Chan is a wonderful storyteller.' -- Kate Gilby-Smith, author of The Astonishing Future of Alex Nobody
'Danny Chung Does Not Do Maths is both heart-warming and hilarious, filled with characters you'll instantly love.' -- Jamie Smart, author of Bunny Vs Monkey
'Danny Chung Does Not Do Maths is heart-warming and packed with fascinating snippets of Chinese culture. I loved reading about the intergenerational relationship between Danny and his grandmother. We all need a Nai Nai in our lives.' -- Jen Carney, author of The Accidental Diary of B.U.G.

You may also be interested in...

Tom Gates 20: Happy to Help (eventually)
Added to basket
Lockwood & Co: The Screaming Staircase
Added to basket
Charlotte's Web
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Gangsta Granny
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Northern Lights
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
Dork Diaries
Added to basket
Cat Kid Comic Club 2: Perspectives
Added to basket
The Book of Stolen Dreams
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Tom Gates 19: Random Acts of Fun (pb)
Added to basket
Wonder
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“Friendship, family, dancing”

"Words matter"

This book smashes together Glasgow and Chinese culture - so many different issues are touched upon: racism, growing up, responsibility, poverty, being a young Carer...all dealt with... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.