Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Keane's Company - Captain James Keane (Paperback)
  • Keane's Company - Captain James Keane (Paperback)
zoom

Keane's Company - Captain James Keane (Paperback)

(read by), (author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 16/01/2014
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Wonderfully imaginative' Bernard Cornwell, author of The Last Kingdom. Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Bernard Cornwell.

Meet James Keane of the 27th Foot: an ill-disciplined card sharp and ladies' man - and one of the finest soldiers of Wellington's army. Keane's task, assigned directly by Wellington, is the creation of an intelligence unit operating behind the French lines. He and his company are trusted with the secrets of the generals - and viewed with hostile suspicion by regular troops.

In a bid to recruit men with uncommon skills, Keane springs soldiers from military jails and liberates them from their regiments. It's up to him to form this band of blackguards into an elite unit. Deep in enemy territory, they must negotiate with dangerous guerilla groups and forge new routes for their army if they are to succeed - and survive. Based on the true activities of the first British military intelligence unit, Keane's Company presents an unusual and fascinating picture of the Peninsular War: a nineteenth-century Dirty Dozen and a worthy companion to Sharpe.

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781782064527
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 266 g
Dimensions: 197 x 138 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'A gripping, engaging, fast-paced and colourful read, full of the grit, grime and camaraderie of the fighting men of the Peninsular War. An absolute must-read for all fans of Bernard Cornwell and A.L. Berridge' Historical Writers' Association. * Historical Writers Association *
'Richard Sharpe would be delighted to have James Keane on his side! Iain Gale's creation is a wonderfully imaginative addition to the fascinating tales of Britain's defiance of Bonaparte' Bernard Cornwell. * Bernard Cornwell *

You may also be interested in...

The Wild Hunt
Added to basket
The Fort
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Far Side of the World
Added to basket
A Close Run Thing
Added to basket
Sharpe's Triumph
Added to basket
The Commodore
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Eagle
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Traitor's Blood
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Redcoat
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A High Wind In Jamaica
Added to basket
The Letter of Marque
Added to basket
The Reverse of the Medal
Added to basket
Deadly Election
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Mauritius Command
Added to basket

“not as good as i expected”

I got this book from Facebook to review and I usually enjoy historical fiction so was looking forward to reading this. Iain Gale seems to have researched the era & is obviously very knowledgeable about the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

“disappointing”

It’s wrong to draw comparisons with Bernard Cornwell’s ‘Sharpe’s havoc’, in the sense of any war book in any era. WW2 is littered with cross-over adventures across all fronts by thousands of authors. So, I read... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 24

“Disapointed”

My wife won this book but I nabbed it to read first. When I read the front cover description I thought I might enjoy this as I have read some of the Sharpe novels. Keane is just as brave and fearless, but his moral... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.