Kant's Rational Theology (Paperback)
  • Kant's Rational Theology (Paperback)
zoom

Kant's Rational Theology (Paperback)

(author)
£21.99
Paperback 160 Pages / Published: 28/05/2009
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 15 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

In Kant's Rational Theology, Allen W. Wood explores Kant's views on the concept of God and on the attempt to demonstrate God's existence. "We cannot have a full or balanced understanding of Kant's thought on religious subjects," he writes, "as long as we fail to take account of his reflections, often exceedingly abstract, obscure, and subtle, concerning the rational origin, content, and status of our concept of a supreme being."

The importance of this aspect of Kantian thought, according to Wood, lies in its originality, in its historical influence, and in the insights it affords into the tradition of rational theology in medieval and modern philosophy. He believes that it also provides a means of understanding Kant's work as a whole and of achieving a proper appreciation of the contents of Kant's moral faith. The author focuses on Kant's chapter on the ideal or pure reason from the Critique of Pure Reason and also discusses other Kantian writings (especially the Lectures on Philosophical Theology, the Critique of Judgment, and several of Kant's precritical essays) where the topic of rational theology is prominent. A concise recapitulation and critical assessment of Kant's more speculative theses, this book is a complement to Wood's earlier book, Kant's Moral Religion.

Publisher: Cornell University Press
ISBN: 9780801475535
Number of pages: 160
Weight: 255 g
Dimensions: 216 x 140 x 9 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"This splendid little book has two main sections. The first traces the origins of Kant's account of God, the ens realissimum, in the first Critique, and analyzes the very obscure introductory passage which precedes Kant's criticism of the three proofs of God's existence. The second examine that criticism in detail. Wood's prose is simple and concise, and he perfectly combines sound historical exegesis with discussion of the general philosophical issues involved."

* Mind *

"Wood's scholarship possesses both historical insight (helping him to situate Kant in the tradition of Descartes, Leibniz, and Wolff) and analytic subtlety (enriching his discussion of such issues as modality and predication). The result is a book that is both an original contribution to Kant studies and an inquiry into the possibility of theology as a 'rational' enterprise."

* Journal of the American Academy of Religion *

You may also be interested in...

A Little History of Philosophy
Added to basket
The Order of Time
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Daily Stoic
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
Ikigai
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Utopia for Realists
Added to basket
Rebel Ideas
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Beyond Order
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Together
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Hood Feminism
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Art of Logic
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Meditations
Added to basket
£10.00
Hardback
The Tipping Point
Added to basket
What Artists Wear
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Metazoa
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
12 Rules for Life
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Rebel Ideas
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.