Junction of Earth and Sky (Hardback)
  • Junction of Earth and Sky (Hardback)
zoom

Junction of Earth and Sky (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 288 Pages
Published: 01/08/2024
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

A sweeping and emotional debut from a dazzling new voice - for fans of The Paper Palace, The Dutch House and Betty.

Coming of age in 1940s England, Alice's life is thrown into chaos under the shadow of the war. Forced to let go of her hopes and dreams, she finds herself uprooted to America and a life she never could have imagined.

Decades later, it is the 1990s and Alice's granddaughter Marnie is living out of a worn-out Chevy Nova, running heroin and cocaine along the New England coastline. Yet she carries with her memories of a nurtured childhood in hardscrabble Rhode Island, where all the disappointments of her young parents were eclipsed by her grandmother's love.

Spanning six decades and two continents, from the shores of WWII England to the underside of 1990s America, JUNCTION OF EARTH AND SKY unfolds -in multiple timelines -the enduring bond of grandmother and granddaughter, plagued by the past but determined to find their place in the world against all the odds.

Publisher: Bonnier Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781786583468
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 234 x 153 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

This is a book of remarkable insight and empathy. The novel's kaleidoscopic view of one family over six generations drew me right into the characters' lives and wouldn't let me go. I will be thinking about the special bond between Alice and Marnie for a long time - Charmaine Wilkerson, New York Times bestselling author of Black Cake

Written in precise and vivid prose, Junction of Earth and Sky combines the emotional breadth of an epic with the attention to specific, everyday detail of a short story collection. A moving and hopeful novel about intergenerational trauma and the struggle to break the chain - Imogen Crimp, author of A Very Nice Girl

Through masterfully woven multiple timelines and vividly drawn characters, Junction of Earth and Sky reveals three generations of women overcoming loss, domestic violence, and addiction, ultimately surviving thanks to an abiding love between grandmother and granddaughter - Virginia Pye

A book to savour. This is a love story between a granddaughter and a grandmother, both of whom we get to know as children, as adults, in their worst times and in their best. These characters will stay with me for a long time - Caroline Corcoran

Heartbreaking. A painstaking portrayal of how trauma is carried down through generations. A real read-in-one sitting story with characters to care about and history to contemplate. I loved it. - Ericka Waller

You may also be interested in...

The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Seventh Son
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Brotherless Night
Added to basket
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Tom Lake
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
More Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Kala
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: