Jeannie's War - The Kiltie Street Girls 1 (Paperback)
  • Jeannie's War - The Kiltie Street Girls 1 (Paperback)
zoom

Jeannie's War - The Kiltie Street Girls 1 (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 24/03/2022
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A lovely, lovely story set in WW2. It gripped me from page one...I'd highly recommend it!' Reader Review

War changed her country, but it couldn't change her spirit

Glasgow, 1939

Despite being shy and reserved, Jeannie Dougal finds herself newly engaged to handsome soldier, Arthur Dunn, the day war is announced. Jeannie accepts, even if she is unsure if a girl from the tenements will fit in with Arthur's comfortable, middle-class background. But as WW2 takes its toll on the world, her wedding must wait...

As she sets off to work at a munitions factory she meets Eileen, Janet and Annie. As her new friends bond together in war work, sharing their stories of romance, Jeanie is grateful to be settled with Arthur, even if he is set in his ways.

Until she meets charming Canadian soldier, Bill, and realises she has found a spark she was always missing. But how can Jeannie tell Arthur? And is she strong enough to fight her own battle, with the country already at war...?

An emotional and romantic family saga set in WW2 Scotland and the start of a captivating new series. Fans of Call the Midwife and Katie Flynn won't be able to put this down.

Readers are falling in love with Jeannie's War:

'Loved it...Heartbreaking in chapters that will make you cry, so make sure the tissues are handy.' Reader Review

'WOW. Loved this book. If you love family saga based in the war, you will love this.' Reader Review

'A great WWII-era historical fiction saga...I truly enjoyed this one...Through this story of love, loss, uncertainty, and finding one's place in life we also get a glimpse of history as well...Beautifully written.' Reader Review

'A fantastic read, great start to a series...I'm looking forward to reading more by this author.' Reader Review

'Loved this book...A great read with a few good twists and turns in the story...Highly recommended.' Reader Review

'An emotional read...It's beautifully written and I quickly found myself caught up in the pages.' Reader Review

Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 9781800328518
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 19 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Loving Cup
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Daughter's Disgrace
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Stranger From The Sea
Added to basket
The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket
Hothouse Flower
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Black Moon
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Demelza
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Life's Music
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Bad Apple
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Mother's Shame
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
Twopenny Rainbows
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Cities of the Plain
Added to basket
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Sagas of the Icelanders
Added to basket

“A superb start to a new series”

If there’s one thing that I like doing, it’s discovering new authors and Carol MacLean is certainly a new author for me. As well as being a book geek, I am also a historical fiction nerd with a particular interest in... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Historical Fiction”

Glasgow, 1939: Despite being shy and reserved, Jeannie Dougal finds herself newly engaged to handsome soldier Arthur Dunn, the day the war is announced. Jeannie accepts even if she's unsure if a girl rom the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1
Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader

“A poignant historical tale!”

Jeannie’s War by Carol MacLean is an engaging novel set that takes us to Glasgow, Scotland in 1939. The Dougal family is in their flat on Kiltie Street listening to Neville Chamberlain on the wireless as he declares... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.