Jane Steele (Paperback)
  • Jane Steele (Paperback)
zoom

Jane Steele (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 22/03/2016
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Reader, I murdered him.' JANE STEELE is a brilliant Gothic retelling of JANE EYRE from Edgar-nominated Lyndsay Faye, for fans of LONGBOURN and PRIDE AND PREJUDICE AND ZOMBIES. 'I loved it' - Elly Griffiths.

Like the heroine of the novel she adores, Jane Steele suffers cruelly at the hands of her aunt and schoolmaster. And like Jane Eyre, they call her wicked - but in her case, she fears the accusation is true. When she flees, she leaves behind the corpses of her tormentors.


A fugitive navigating London's underbelly, Jane rights wrongs on behalf of the have-nots whilst avoiding the noose. Until an advertisement catches her eye. Her aunt has died and the new master at Highgate House, Mr Thornfield, seeks a governess. Anxious to know if she is Highgate's true heir, Jane takes the position and is soon caught up in the household's strange spell. When she falls in love with the mysterious Charles Thornfield, she faces a terrible dilemma: can she possess him - body, soul and secrets - and what if he discovers her murderous past?

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472217554
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 570 g
Dimensions: 233 x 165 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
I loved it. What a clever, funny, gruesome, absorbing story! -- Elly Griffiths
This is a wonderfully wicked book. The deadly first chapter actually made me gasp. Jane Steele is a character you will not soon forget. Great evil fun! -- R.L. Stine, New York Times bestselling author of Goosebumps and Fear Street
Lyndsay Faye pulls off the most elusive feat of historical fiction: to give us a book that reads as though it was unearthed from a perfectly preserved antique chest. Sneakily charming and wildly well written, like Faye's other novels Jane Steele demands attention -- Matthew Pearl, New York Times bestselling author of The Dante Club and The Last Bookaneer
A heady mix of pastiche and thriller . . . a delight from first to last * The Sunday Times *
Jane Steele is lethal good fun! In Jane, Lyndsay Faye has created a heroine unwilling to suffer tyrants or fools. The result is a darkly-humorous, elegantly-crafted story of an "accidental" vigilante. A delicious read -- Suzanne Rindell, author of The Other Typist
Let's be honest here. When I was sent an advanced readers' copy of Jane Steele, which was billed as an historical crime novel with a Jane-Eyre-style heroine who becomes a serial killer, I thought someone was pulling my leg. I decided to read ten pages, just to annoy myself as I'm often inclined to do. Also, to show what a good sport I am. I was hooked by page five and read my way through at a merry clip. I loved this book! The language rings true, the period details are correct. Jane Steele is a joy, both plucky and rueful in her assessment of her dark deeds. The plotting is solid and the pacing sublime. If this were a series, this would be the perfect introduction. As a stand-alone, I give it an A+ -- Sue Grafton, #1 New York Times bestselling author
Enchanting. Jane Steele is beautifully rendered and utterly captivating, from the first cry of "reader, I murdered him" to its final pages. Lyndsay Faye is a masterful storyteller, and this is her finest tale yet -- Maria Konnikova, New York Times bestselling author of Mastermind: How to Think Like Sherlock Holmes
A witty, macabre reimagining of Jane Eyre * Stylist Magazine *
From the gasp-inducing moment Jane Steele utters the words "reader, I murdered him", you know you are in for a rollicking romp of an adventure that recasts the Jane Eyre story in an entirely new light. But mixed in with the verve and vivacity is a story of real heart, exemplary, near-forgotten history, and an utterly unforgettable heroine. Brava to Lyndsay Faye for what's already one of my favorite thrillers of the year -- Sarah Weinman, editor of Women Crime Writers: Eight Suspense Novels of the 1940s & 50s
Young Jane Steele's favorite book, Charlotte Bronte's Jane Eyre, mirrors her life both too little and too much . . . In an arresting tale of dark humor and sometimes gory imagination, Faye has produced a heroine worthy of the gothic literature canon but reminiscent of detective fiction * Library Journal, Starred Review *
Add Jane Steele to that club of unforgettable antiheroes - Tom Ripley, Hannibal Lecter, and Dexter Morgan - who do dreadful things to bad people. Bold, inventive, and charmingly wicked, this instantly addictive novel pays homage to Jane Eyre while being wholly original. Lyndsay Faye has created a masterpiece -- Hilary Davidson
Faye's skill at historical mystery was evident in her nineteenth-century New York trilogy, but this slyly satiric stand-alone takes her prowess to new levels. A must for Bronte devotees; wickedly entertaining for all -- Michele Leber
I love Lyndsay Faye's audaciousness in recasting Jane as a murder, and the Victorian Gothic atmosphere is superbly done -- Stephanie Lam
Jane Eyre gets a dose of Dexter * Cosmopolitan *
Jane Steele is a marvellous book and I loved every elegantly wrought sentence of it. No reader could wish for a more entertaining narrator than big-hearted, knife-wielding Jane, nor a more vivid and convincing portrait of nineteenth century England. A very worthy companion to its inspiration and template, Jane Eyre, but with a great deal more blood, swearing and general uproariousness. Wonderful -- Kate Riordan
It's amazing. Best book of 2016 so far -- Kirsty Logan
"Reader, I murdered him." That's how Lyndsay Faye sets up her take on Jane Eyre. Like the classic heroine, Jane is a Victorian orphan, mistreated and sent off to school. Only she's a killer seeking vengeance in this clever thriller * US Weekly *
Must Read * Marie Claire *
Witty, exquisitely plotted, this is such a delectable treat 'tis a pity it has to end * People
magazine *
Reader, she murdered him. In Lyndsay Faye's darkly comic retelling of Jane Eyre, the heroine is a serial killer with justification for every bloody act * Wall Street Journal *
The narrative is infused with humour and wit, is entertaining and engaging. This is exactly what good storytelling should be * Never Imitate Blog *
A perfect read. A great plot with unexpected twists and turns, highly original * Biblio Maniac UK Blog *
One for everyone. Possibly the best fun you'll have with a story this year . . . Highly recommended * Liz Loves Books Blog *
Faye hasn't embarked on a retelling of Bronte's masterwork, or anyone else's, for that matter. Her novel pays homage to the greats, yet offers a heroine whose murky past and murderous present remind us that some female behavior in other eras never made it into print * National Public Radio *

You may also be interested in...

Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
The White Queen
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Virgin's Lover
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback

“Jane Steele”

I really loved this book! I have to say Jane Eyre is not counted among my favourites but this story was so well mixed with mystery and intrigue, romance and a beautiful mastery of language. For a book that could... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 37

“Charlotte Bronte meets Dickens - with deadly results”

Lyndsay Faye’s novel, Jane Steele, is very clever. It is not a retelling or a sequel to Jane Eyre but the adventures of the eponymous heroine echo those of Charlotte Bronte’s character. In fact Jane Steele reads Jane... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 21

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.