Jamaica Inn - Virago Modern Classics (Paperback)
  • Jamaica Inn - Virago Modern Classics (Paperback)
zoom

Jamaica Inn - Virago Modern Classics (Paperback)

(author), (author of introduction)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 320 Pages
Published: 06/03/2003
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

AN UNFORGETTABLE STORY OF MURDER, MYSTERY AND PASSION, FROM THE BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF REBECCA.

'Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner' THE TIMES

'Daphne du Maurier has no equal' SUNDAY TELEGRAPH

'Jamaica Inn is a novel about nothing less than pure evil ... with an eerie and shocking kind of power, in the novel's astonishing final act' JULIE MYERSON, GUARDIAN

In the bitter November wind, Mary Yellan crosses Bodmin Moor to Jamaica Inn. Her mother's dying wish was that she take refuge there with her Aunt Patience. But when Mary arrives, the warning of the coachman echoes in her mind. Jamaica Inn has a desolate power and behind its crumbling walls, Patience is a changed woman, cowering before her brooding, violent husband.

When Mary discovers the inn's dark secrets, the truth is more terrifying than anything she could possibly imagine and she is forced to collude in her uncle's murderous schemes. Against her will, she finds herself powerfully attracted to her uncle's brother, a man she dares not trust.

Jamaica Inn is a dark and gripping gothic tale that will remind readers of two other great classics, Jane Eyre and Wuthering Heights. This was also made into a film, also called Jamaica Inn, directed by Alfred Hitchcock.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781844080397
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 255 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Jamaica Inn is a first-rate page-turner - The Times

For, ultimately, Jamaica Inn is a novel about nothing less than pure evil. Not the lumpen, drunken, thuggish evil that men like Joss can effect, but something much worse - a force that Du Maurier only begins to put into words, with an eerie and shocking kind of power, in the novel's astonishing final act - Julie Myerson, Guardian

A perfect fusion of gothic romance and a young woman's rite of passage in the vein of Twilight and Wuthering Heights - Independent

Daphne du Maurier has no equal - Sunday Telegraph

Jamaica Inn is perhaps the most accomplished historical romance ever written - Good Book Guide

A dark tale. A brilliant thriller - Daily Express

You may also be interested in...

Brave New World
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Picture of Dorian Gray
Added to basket
Pride and Prejudice
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Picture of Dorian Gray
Added to basket
A Month in the Country
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Frankenstein
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Little Women
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
White Nights
Added to basket
£3.00
Paperback
The Brothers Karamazov
Added to basket
The Master and Margarita
Added to basket
Animal Farm
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Metamorphosis
Added to basket
£9.99
Hardback
Rebecca
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Giovanni's Room
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Metamorphosis and Other Stories
Added to basket

“I shouldn't compare it to Rebecca but...”

I was expecting to love this book; I loved Rebecca, it's set by the coast, it's dark and intense, it involves smuggling. But it fell short and I think the main reasons for this were the irritating... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 128

“Unputdownable”

I read this in two days. Loved it.

An original and relevant book to those a fan of Cornwall based literature (like Poledark or Demelza). As myself live in the South West- why not try reading something a little... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 101

“Surprisingly fresh”

I bought this having really enjoyed Rebecca. Although it was written over 80 years ago, it is still surprisingly fresh. The plotting is superb and will have you racing through the pages as you try to work out what... More

Paperback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 64

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: