Jakob's Colours (Paperback)
  • Jakob's Colours (Paperback)
zoom

Jakob's Colours (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 28/01/2016
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Inspired by the lost voices of the Romany Holocaust this heartbreaking and tender novel will appeal to readers who loved Sophie's Choice, Schindler's Ark and The Book Thief.

Austria, 1944. Jakob, a gypsy boy - half Roma, half Yenish - runs, as he has been told to do. With shoes of sack cloth, still bloodstained with another's blood, a stone clutched in one hand, a small wooden box in the other. He runs blindly, full of fear, empty of hope. For hope lies behind him in a green field with a tree that stands shaped like a Y.

He knows how to read the land, the sky. When to seek shelter, when not. He has grown up directing himself with the wind and the shadows. They are familiar to him. It is the loneliness that is not. He has never, until this time, been so alone.

'Don't be afraid, Jakob,' his father has told him, his voice weak and wavering. 'See the colours, my boy,' he has whispered. So he does. Rusted ochre from a mossy bough. Steely white from the sap of the youngest tree. On and on, Jakob runs.

Spanning from one world war to another, taking us across England, Switzerland and Austria, Jakob's Colours is about the painful legacies passed down from one generation to another, finding hope where there is no hope and colour where there is no colour.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444797664
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 226 g
Dimensions: 199 x 148 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
I thought it was a remarkable book - brave, big-hearted, and beautifully written. Harrowing too, of course, at times almost unbearably so, but Lindsay Hawdon meets the material with such honesty and courage we, as readers, can stay with it without feeling crushed by it. It's a first novel that clearly announces the arrival of a very talented writer. * Andrew Miller, author of Costa award-winning PURE *
A memorable debut ...There is a theme here that fits the complicated structure, about the stories we tell to spin hope from despair. The prose is poetic and on occasion luminously beautiful ... a powerful story. * The Times *
The book's fairy tale tone, and its themes of hope and beauty are matched by Hawdon's poetic language. * Independent *
As mesmerising as it is heartbreaking * The Times *
A deeply involving tale, hazardous and harrowing, Hawdon has a fine eye for detail in description... [her] feel for the subject matter is instinctive ... a well realised and unquestionably admirable enterprise. ... she'll go far. * Guardian *
There are moments of real beauty, and the central story is as mesmerising as it is heartbreaking. * The Times *
She writes with raw power. This book demands to be read. * John Humphrys *
Tackling the story of the lesser-known Gypsy Holocaust, Hawdon writes powerfully and sensitively about individuals deriving courage from what the can empathise with, during a terrible time. * The Lady *
Lindsay Hawdon certainly didn't pick an easy subject, but by heck it's an important one, and she's more than done it justice with this mesmerising and moving tale. A bewitchingly beautiful and utterly captivating story, which shows that hope exists even in the very darkest of places. * Heat *
Lindsay Hawdon's novel will crack your heart open * Sunday Express *
It IS the best book I've ever read... * Linda's Book Bag *
A haunting book, dealing with a little-known part of history, told in luminous and poetic prose. * Rebecca Mascull, author of THE VISITORS *
A compassionate, hopeful heart beats strongly throughout this vivid work of poetic imagination as Jakob's Colours journeys across time and space to illuminate a long neglected chapter in the wider tragedy of European history. * Lindsay Clarke, author of THE CHYMICAL WEDDING *
Wonderfully written - the descriptions, the fractured timeline, the colours bleed off the page and into your soul. This is not just a great book, but a very important one. * Marina Fiorato, author of BEATRICE AND BENEDICK *
A heartbreaking love story... Writing with passion and poetry, Lindsay Hawdon brings astonishing colour and life to an episode of unremitting darkness and despair. I honestly believe it stands comparison with D.M. Thomas's classic The White Hotel. * Rory Clements, author of the bestselling John Shakespeare spy thrillers *
An impressive, heartfelt debut - a book about the power of stories to sustain us and drive us forward. It reminded me of Patrick Suskind's Perfume, but with colours in place of scents... * Aly Monroe, author of the Ellis Peters Historical Award winner ICELIGHT *
Jakob's Colours reduced me to tears. I loved its hypnotic, rhapsodic quality and can't shake it from my mind. * Sarah Vaughan, author of THE ART OF BAKING BLIND *
Lindsay Hawdon's writing is beautiful, her characterisation pitch perfect, her ability to terrify and sicken eclipsed only by her ability to make us smile ... it is an important book, a story that is still very relevant seventy years after its setting; this is a book that demands an audience and I can guarantee that you will not come away disappointed. * Reader Dad blog *

You may also be interested in...

Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Standard Deviation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heat Wave
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
My Absolute Darling
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Men Without Women
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Beautiful Summer
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
When The Curtain Falls
Added to basket
Home Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Call Me By Your Name
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Force of Nature
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Sealwoman's Gift
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
How to Stop Time
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“A story that will break your heart in two but also gives hope. A beautifully written book that demands to be read.”

Over the last year or so I have been privileged and at the same time trusted in reviewing books on the Holocaust a subject that is close to my heart.
One aspect of the Holocaust that is less often spoken about is the... More

Hardback edition
20th March 2016
Helpful? Upvote 33

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.