Jackaby (Paperback)
  • Jackaby (Paperback)
zoom

Jackaby (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 320 Pages
Published: 25/08/2015

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

The first book in the New York Times bestselling paranormal mystery series pits R.F. Jackaby, investigator of the unexplainable, and his new assistant, Abigail Rook, against a supernatural serial killer. Newly arrived in New Fiddleham, New England, 1892, and in need of a job, Abigail Rook meets R. F. Jackaby, an investigator of the unexplained with a keen eye for the extraordinary--including the ability to see supernatural beings. Abigail has a gift for noticing ordinary but important details, which makes her perfect for the position of Jackaby’s assistant. On her first day, Abigail finds herself in the midst of a thrilling case: A serial killer is on the loose. The police are convinced it’s an ordinary villain, but Jackaby is certain the foul deeds are the work of the kind of creature whose very existence the local authorities--with the exception of a handsome young detective named Charlie Cane--seem adamant to deny.

Publisher: Workman Publishing
ISBN: 9781616205461
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 208 x 138 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

“With tension as taut as a high wire, this series blends laugh-out-loud humor and ghastly horror with supernatural skill. You don’t have to read the first book to enjoy this one, but we highly recommend it because reading the series is straight-up fun. Perfect for fans of Harry Potter, Grimm and Sherlock Holmes.”—Justine Magazine “Ritter’s debut skillfully blends science with the supernatural and balances whimsy with violence. The smartly paced plot wraps up neatly, but the rich world of this debut demands sequels.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review “Toss together an alternate 19th-century New England city, a strong tradition of Sherlockian pastiche, and one seriously ugly hat, and this lighthearted and assured debut emerges, all action and quirk.” —Publishers Weekly

“Ritter’s debut skillfully blends science with the supernatural and balances whimsy with violence. The smartly paced plot wraps up neatly, but the rich world of this debut demands sequels.”—Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Holmes crossed with Buffy the Vampire Slayer.”—Chicago Tribune

“Toss together an alternate 19th-century New England city, a strong tradition of Sherlockian pastiche, and one seriously ugly hat, and this lighthearted and assured debut emerges, all action and quirk.”—Publishers Weekly

“Fans of Jonathan Stroud’s The Screaming Staircase will appreciate Ritter’s initial foray into the realm of supernatural. . .avid lovers of fantasy will enjoy this quick read.”—School Library Journal

“We honestly couldn’t put it down.”—Nerdist.com

You may also be interested in...

One Dark Window
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Greenwild: The World Behind The Door
Added to basket
The End Crowns All
Added to basket
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
Reckless
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Crimson Moth
Added to basket
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Divine Rivals
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Lightlark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Added to basket
Wonka
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: