• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
It's All In Your Head: A Guide to Getting Your Sh*t Together (Paperback)
  • It's All In Your Head: A Guide to Getting Your Sh*t Together (Paperback)
zoom

It's All In Your Head: A Guide to Getting Your Sh*t Together (Paperback)

(author), (author of contributions), (illustrator)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 10/08/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

"A warm hug of a book ... a true gem" Buzzfeed

What I hope you take away from this book: good Mexican food deserves to go viral; good underwear never features the word 'string'; good mental health is the single most important thing you need to live a happy life.

I don't have a psychology degree - in fact, I once tried to throw a typewriter at a child psychiatrist (this was in the days before MacBook pros) - but I do have experience, understanding and coping mechanisms to help you get your sh*t together. From anxiety and eating disorders to OCD and psychosis, I want to help break down taboos surrounding mental health conditions (which directly affect 1 in 4 of us each year - you are NOT alone) and help you come out the other side happier and healthier. I'd also like to gift you with a deeper understanding of what's going on in your head, and how to navigate through life without feeling overwhelmed or isolated.

Where my lack of medical background becomes an issue, Dr Radha swoops in to the rescue. As a GP, mental-health expert and co-host of BBC Radio 1's The Surgery, I've worked with her to make sure all the information and advice is spot-on. She's clever, she's kind and she GETS it. I wish my teenage brain had had access to Dr Radha.

After My Mad Fat Diary published, and the TV show followed, lots of people from my past got in touch to say they'd thought I'd been a largely splendid teenager. And, to most people, I probably was. Because I was very adept at hiding my OCD, my anxiety, my depression, my eating disorders, behind a smile and a big sack of silly. And that is why I've written this book. Because I hate to think of any teen going through what I did, and feeling like they can't talk about it, or need to hide it. This is a book to break down taboos, to start conversations, to help you talk about things that seem impossible. It's a book for fans of Gemma Cairney and Open, Ruby Wax and Frazzled, Matt Haig and Reasons to Stay Alive, Bryony Gordon and Mad Girl. And most importantly, it's a book to make you feel like you're not alone. You're really, really not. @RaeEarl

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781526300027
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 378 g
Dimensions: 210 x 142 x 23 mm

You may also be interested in...

Ryan Higa's How to Write Good
Added to basket
Hole in the Middle
Added to basket
Doing It
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Silence is Goldfish
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blame My Brain
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Misfit
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Paperback
Like Other Girls
Added to basket
The Problem With Forever
Added to basket
The Moonlight Dreamers
Added to basket
The Way Back Home
Added to basket
Mirror, Mirror
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Every Last Word
Added to basket
Mind Your Head
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Turtles All the Way Down
Added to basket
Nothing Tastes As Good
Added to basket
Dumplin'
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“For those suffering from mental health issues and those who do not.”

Rae Earl breaks down the taboo of mental health in this book. She draws from her own life experiences having suffered a nervous breakdown when she was only 16 years old and discusses various mental health issues which... More

Paperback edition
17th September 2017
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.