Island Reich (Paperback)
  • Island Reich (Paperback)
zoom

Island Reich (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 544 Pages / Published: 28/10/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The rich, atmospheric WWII thriller from the award-winning author of Moskva and Nightfall Berlin, perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow's BLACKOUT

'Intricately plotted, rip-roaring World War Two adventure - proper heroes, proper villains, royal intrigue and grounded in real history' IAN RANKIN
_________

July, 1940. The Nazis launch their invasion of Britain - starting with the Channel Islands . . .

And soldier turned safecracker Bill O'Hagan gets an offer: hang for his crimes, or serve his country.

The mission - land on occupied Alderney, impersonate a local, steal the invasion plans, escape. He almost believes they're not lying to him.

In Portugal, the former King, Edward, Duke of Windsor, receives an altogether different proposal from Germany: ease the invasion and he'll get his throne back. But Edward will not readily betray his country . . .

An embittered former king. An unreformed thief.
And a secret upon which the fates of nations lie . . .
_________

'Fact and fiction merge in a rip-roaring yarn that is totally credible. Excellent' SUN

'Triumphant . . . The synthesis of real and fictitious characters is handled with panache by the talented Grimwood' FINANCIAL TIMES

'Top notch . . . the suspense never wavers' CRIMETIME

'Grimwood matches Robert Harris, Joseph Kanon, Ken Follett and John le Carre thrill for thrill in this breath-taking WWII story of atmospheric suspense, daring espionage and political intrigue' GLASGOW LIFE

'Highly entertaining . . . There are complications, twists and turns of plot in abundance. Every bit as credible or satisfying as James Bond' SCOTSMAN

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781405936705
Number of pages: 544
Weight: 359 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Intricately plotted, rip-roaring World War Two adventure - proper heroes, proper villains, royal intrigue and grounded in real history -- Ian Rankin * - *
Matches Robert Harris, Joseph Kanon, Ken Follett and John le Carre thrill for thrill in this breath-taking WWII story of atmospheric suspense, daring espionage and political intrigue, set in the tense depths of Britain's Darkest Hour * What's On Glasgow *
Triumphant... The synthesis of real and fictitious characters is handled with panache by the talented Grimwood * Financial Times *
Top-notch . . . the suspense never wavers * Crimetime *
Highly entertaining . . . The plot is splendidly complicated. Like most good adventure novels set in recognizable history, Grimwood offers readers an enticing "what if?" * Scotsman *
Fact and fiction merge in a rip-roaring yarn. Excellent * Sun *
Praise for Jack Grimwood * - *
A fine book . . . for those who enjoy vintage le Carre -- Ian Rankin * - *
Grimwood is a damned fine writer * Independent *
The new le Carre . . . an absolutely brilliant page turner . . . if you love thrillers, Jack Grimwood is a name you need to remember * BBC Radio 2 The Sara Cox Show *
Spring's best thriller * Observer *
A powerful, addictive, twisty tale where no-one can be trusted -- David Young, author of Stasi Child * - *
'Note-perfect, multi-layered, rugged as a T-34 tank. Grimwood is about to become your new favourite thriller writer * Independent *
The writing is elegant, the dialogue razor sharp, the characters drawn economically but effectively, and the action is unrelenting * SciFi Now *
The superior spy thriller of the year. Le Carre fans will be delighted * - *
A compulsive and supremely intelligent thriller from a master stylist * - *
An intriguing thriller * Literary Review *
Mesmerising, surefooted, vividly realised . . . something special in the arena of international thrillers * Financial Times *
Even better than Child 44 . . . A blizzard of exciting set pieces, superbly realized * Daily Telegraph *
An extraordinarily atmospheric and immersive read ... escapism at its best * Good Housekeeping *
So atmospheric, so elegantly written . . . like Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch, or like early le Carre. I really recommend it. I just disappeared into it totally -- Marian Keyes * - *
The thriller of the summer ... Grimwood raises the stakes in this dark, twisty tale * iPaper *
Fact and fiction merge in what they used to call a rip-roaring yarn that is totally credible. Excellent. * The Sun *

You may also be interested in...

The Night Gate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Slough House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Murder After Christmas
Added to basket
BOX 88
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Evening and the Morning
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Judge's List
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Left You Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A fascinating meld of historical fact and fiction”

A fast paced, labyrinthine WWII thriller set after the Fall of France and Britain prepares itself for the expected German invasion.
After a job goes wrong, former soldier turned safe-cracker, Bill O' Hagan is... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
Stacey

“Totally enthralling”

Island Reich is the first book that I have read from author Jack Grimwood and I must say I like his style of writing. The book is huge and has 189 chapters, though given that most of them are super short (my favourite... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Good ideas but poorly edited”

July 1940 and the Nazis have taken over France and invaded the Channel Islands. Former King Edward, now the Duke of Windsor, has had to flee to Portugal. Here he is being wooed by the fascists to join their cause... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.