Island in the East: Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything. (Paperback)
  • Island in the East: Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything. (Paperback)
zoom

Island in the East: Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything. (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£13.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 02/11/2017
  • Publisher reprinting

Temporarily out of stock

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Beautifully written and impressively researched, Island in the East is a stunner. Emotional, evocative and enthralling.' Kate Furnivall

'I'm absolutely loving it.' Gill Paul

'Completely entrancing - the humidity and social tensions of a bygone Singapore rise from every page. Perfect escapism, beautifully written.' Emma Rous

'It's impossible to put this book down.' Kate Riordan

With a sizzling love affair playing out against sisterly rivalry and epic family drama, Island in the East is the perfect read for fans of Victoria Hislop, Dinah Jefferies and Tracy Rees.

**************

Two great loves. One shattering betrayal. A war that changes everything.

Singapore, 1897
Harriet and Mae Grafton, twenty-year-old identical twins born from a scandalous affair, grew up in India slighted by gossip and ostracised from polite society. They had each other and that was enough. But when their wealthy benefactor sends them to Singapore, they meet the mysterious Alex Blake and their relationship fractures with devastating consequences.

1941
Ivy Harcourt is posted to wartime Singapore amid the looming threat of Japanese invasion. Ivy knows the island will be a far cry from war-torn London, but she is totally unprepared for what awaits her: strangers from her grandmother Mae's past, an unstoppable love affair, and a shattering secret that's been waiting to be uncovered . . .

Vivid, authentic and utterly beautiful, Island in the East is evocative, atmospheric and romantic historical fiction at its very best.

Praise for Jenny Ashcroft:

'Exotic and mysterious - I was gripped by this complex tale' Dinah Jefferies
'Beautifully described . . . A moving love story' Tracy Rees
'A summer must-read' Red
'Absolutely brilliant' Kerry Fisher
'First-class writing, brilliant characters, fascinating locations and gripping plots' Tracy Buchanan
'Exquisitely written . . . unputdownable and unforgettable' Iona Grey
'A wonderful novel, full of mystery that kept me gripped until the end' Rachel Burton

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751565065
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 540 g
Dimensions: 154 x 234 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A disturbing and utterly fascinating tale in the vivid setting of Singapore, where emotions are raw and characters are pushed to the edge. I was swept away by the deeply moving love story and by the dark twisting shivering secrets behind it. The stifling sense of threat and heat gripped me and didn't let go. Beautifully written and impressively researched, Island in the East is a stunner. Emotional, evocative and enthralling. -- Kate Furnivall
An evocative, absorbing story about a fascinating period of history. The dual narrative is perfectly balanced, making it a rich and satisfying read. -- Gill Paul * bestselling author of The Secret Wife *
A moving, stirring love story, and so richly atmospheric. I could practically feel the sweat prickling on my skin -- Tammy Cohen writing as Rachel Rhys
Historical fiction at its atmospheric best -- Sarra Manning * Red Magazine *
Jenny Ashcroft's Island in the East is that rare thing: a dual narrative novel in which both strands of the story are as engaging and compelling as each other. The Singapore of the two different eras is a character in itself, and so deftly drawn that the heat and humidity seem to rise from every page. As the twin threats of invasion and social exclusion close in on Harriet, Mae and Ivy, it becomes impossible to put this book down. -- Kate Riordan
Brilliant; everything romantic historical fiction should be, heartfelt and heart-breaking, utterly compulsive and completely immersive . . . will stay with readers for a very long time and deservedly so. I haven't read a historical novel this good in a long time. -- Nicola Cornick * bestselling author of House of Shadows *
A great read, with a complex and involving plot, appealing characters and two touching love stories. Ashcroft's portrait of wartime Singapore is evocative, and the island's fall in 1942 is powerfully conveyed. -- Judith Lennox * on Island in the East *
Evocative, lush and beautifully written, Island in the East is a gripping read. Romance, mysterious secrets surfacing from the past and strong women that will have you rooting for them until the last page is turned - I couldn't put it down. -- Nikola Scott * author of My Mother's Shadow *
Completely entrancing - the humidity and social tensions of a bygone Singapore rise from every page. Perfect escapism, beautifully written -- Emma Rous
An incredibly special, unforgettable book. It's magnificent. -- Iona Grey
A wonderful novel, full of mystery . . . If you love historical fiction with a touch of epic romance, if you loved Beneath a Burning Sky then read Island in the East as soon as you can. Oh, whoever you are and whatever you like reading give this one a go. You won't regret it! -- Rachel Burton, author of The Many Colours of Us
Exotic and mysterious. I was gripped * Dinah Jefferies on BENEATH A BURNING SKY *
Beautifully described . . . a moving love story * Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow, on BENEATH A BURNING SKY *
Absolutely brilliant * Kerry Fisher, author of After the Lie, on BENEATH A BURNING SKY *

You may also be interested in...

Sing Them Home
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Her Mother's Secret
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Templar Silks
Added to basket
Dear Mrs Bird
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Shadow Sister
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Workhouse Angel
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
The Sapphire Widow
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Woman in the Wood
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Orphans of Ardwick
Added to basket
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
The Love Letter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Pearl Sister
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Duchess
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Before We Were Yours
Added to basket
Sisters of Gold
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“This is by far the best book in this genre I have read for a long time!”

I couldn’t put down from the moment I started reading it. I kept trying to find a spot that I could finish reading for the night but there wasn’t one and before I knew it it was 6am and 79% through the book!... More

Paperback edition
14th July 2018
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.