Irreplaceable: The fight to save our wild places (Hardback)
  • Irreplaceable: The fight to save our wild places (Hardback)
zoom

Irreplaceable: The fight to save our wild places (Hardback)

(author)
£18.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 27/06/2019
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

For readers of George Monbiot, Mark Cocker and Robert Macfarlane - an urgent and lyrical account of endangered places around the globe and the people fighting to save them.


All across the world, irreplaceable habitats are under threat. Unique ecosystems of plants and animals are being destroyed by human intervention. From the tiny to the vast, from marshland to meadow, and from Kent to Glasgow to India to America, they are disappearing.


Irreplaceable is not only a love letter to the haunting beauty of these landscapes and the wild species that call them home, including nightingales, lynxes, hornbills, redwoods and elephant seals, it is also a timely reminder of the vital connections between humans and nature, and all that we stand to lose in terms of wonder and wellbeing. This is a book about the power of resistance in an age of loss; a testament to the transformative possibilities that emerge when people come together to defend our most special places and wildlife from extinction.


Exploring treasured coral reefs and remote mountains, tropical jungle and ancient woodland, urban allotments and tallgrass prairie, Julian Hoffman traces the stories of threatened places around the globe through the voices of local communities and grassroots campaigners as well as professional ecologists and academics. And in the process, he asks what a deep emotional relationship with place offers us - culturally, socially and psychologically. In this rigorous, intimate and impassioned account, he presents a powerful call to arms in the face of unconscionable natural destruction.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241293881
Number of pages: 416
Dimensions: 234 x 153 mm

You may also be interested in...

Up
Added to basket
Up
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Pianist of Yarmouk
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Best of A. A. Gill
Added to basket
Notes From A Small Island
Added to basket
Japan Through the Looking Glass
Added to basket
The Wild Places
Added to basket
The Road to Little Dribbling
Added to basket
Lost Japan
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Silk Roads
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Erebus: The Story of a Ship
Added to basket
The Debatable Land
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Neither Here, Nor There
Added to basket
The Land Where Lemons Grow
Added to basket
Outpost
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Step By Step
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Penguin Lessons
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.