Into the Valley of Death (Paperback)
  • Into the Valley of Death (Paperback)
zoom

Into the Valley of Death (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 11/04/2013
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Into the Valley of Death is the first in A.L. Berridge's Crimean War series. 1854 - The Allied armies prepare to besiege the Russian stronghold in the Crimea Harry Ryder is a maverick hero. Resentful of the army that destroyed his father and his own career, he has no time for incompetent commanders. He clashes with his superiors as fiercely as he fights the Russians. Four men, one woman and a game of cards will change everything and alter the course of a war. Something evil has crept into the ranks of the British Army's own officers, an unknown enemy who plans lure men to ruin on the battlefields. The only path to victory lies in uncovering the truth, but to find it and confront his own destiny Ryder must charge with the Light Brigade into the Valley of Death itself... From A.L. Berridge, Top Ten Bestselling author of Honour and the Sword, comes Into the Valley of Death; the first in a sensational new series set to the bloody backdrop of the Crimean war. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden, Into the Valley of Death is a masterpiece of exhilarating historical adventure. So begins a thrilling new series set in the midst of a brutal war that shifted the balance of power in Europe and set the stage for World War One. Praise for A.L. Berridge: 'Fast-moving, exciting historical fiction...bringing the Crimea back to life... It's pitch-perfect, breakneck writing' Conn Iggulden 'The novel opens at a cracking pace and accelerates... A. L. Berridge has done it again - quite simply superb.' The Historical Novel Society 'Explodes into life, drama and action on every page. This truly is an outstanding book.' Parmenion Books A.L. Berridge read English at Oxford, and taught for ten years before moving into television, where her production credits range from period drama and thrillers to long-running soaps. She has written two previous novels, Top Ten bestseller Honour and the Sword and In the Name of the King, which are both available from Penguin.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241954102
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 351 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 30 mm

You may also be interested in...

Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An Unsuitable Match
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Killing Commendatore
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
I Invited Her In
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
After the Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
Uncommon Type
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Into the Valley of Death”

As Louise Berridge herself says, the book's hero - Harry Ryder - doesn’t like the army much. He thinks that the commanders are incompetent, commissions are awarded by purchase rather than ability, and corruption... More

Hardback edition
18th March 2013
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.