Insurrection: Robert The Bruce, Insurrection Trilogy Book 1 - Insurrection Trilogy (Paperback)
  • Insurrection: Robert The Bruce, Insurrection Trilogy Book 1 - Insurrection Trilogy (Paperback)
zoom

Insurrection: Robert The Bruce, Insurrection Trilogy Book 1 - Insurrection Trilogy (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 672 Pages / Published: 04/08/2011
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket

The first book in the Insurrection trilogy, which tells the thrilling story of Robert the Bruce.

1286 A.D. Scotland is in the grip of the worst winter in living memory. Some say the Day of Judgement has arrived.

The King of Scotland rides out from Edinburgh into the stormy night. On the road he is murdered by one of his own men, leaving the succession to the throne wide open. Civil war threatens as the powerful Scottish families jostle for power, not knowing that King Edward I of England has set his own plans for conquest in motion.

But all is not destined to go Edward's way. Through the ashes of war, through blood feuds and divided loyalties, a young squire will rise to defy England's greatest king. His name is Robert Bruce.

Insurrection is the first in an addictive and action-packed trilogy in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Manda Scott.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9780340963661
Number of pages: 672
Weight: 440 g
Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 46 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Immaculately researched and carefully written, evoking a very particular - and largely unexplored - time and place. The fights are sensational. * Daily Telegraph *
Young's fans will not be disappointed as she meticulously ploughs through the sweep of history and brings to life one of its most enigmatic characters * Daily Mail *
It is so graphic you can immediately put yourself there, imagining the faces and the clash of weapons. It also elaborates on the historical context and fleshes out the characters. It draws you in and is a compelling novel you cannot put down. So much research must have gone into the book; the detail is incredible. I enjoyed it so much. * The BBC Radio 2 Simon Mayo Book Club *
Richly worked and captivating . . . an epic story of war, intrigue and heroism * Good Book Guide on BRETHREN *
The fast and furious start to a majestic new trilogy * Women and Home *
Leads you in swiftly and doesn't let you go * Australian Women's Weekly *
This tale captures the struggles of a tumultuous time * Australian Daily Telegraph *
another fine novel by Young and a promising start to an exciting new series * Canberra Times *
This is a big book, and the trilogy a huge project to undertake. From the evidence so far, Young's fans will not be disappointed as she meticulously ploughs through the sweep of history and brings to life one of its most enigmatic characters * Daily Mail *
Action-packed historical novel about Robert The Bruce. A fighting start to a new trilogy. * Sun *
Ideal for anyone who loves historical fiction and anyone else who wants a well written and intricate read * Sentinel (Staffordshire) *
A cracking plot and charismatic characters are set against the convincingly researched background of the violent, gory Anglo-Scottish civil wars * Saga *
Given the events are fixed in historical fiction, the trick is to find supplementary reasons for actions, and Young's conceit - that Edward I is trying to capture four relics (one of which is the Stone of Destiny) - gives a great ulterior motivation. The learning is never cumbersome, a deft trick when describing medieval warfare in all its clunking barbarism. * Scotsman *
Young writes with remarkable accuracy, action-packed efficiency and gut-wrenching violence * The Times on REQUIEM *
An outstanding contemporary writer * Kate Mosse on Robyn Young *
A sweeping historical adventure as well as a cracking sequel * Financial Times on CRUSADE *
One of the best historical debuts in recent memory. Exciting and enthralling. * John Connolly on BRETHREN *
Wonderful . . . loaded with atmosphere, action, and intrigue * Steve Berry on BRETHREN *
Like Young's other historical novels, INSURRECTION is meticulously researched . . . a treat for any fans of the Scottish Wars of Independence. * Historical Novel Review *

You may also be interested in...

Troubles
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Siege Of Krishnapur
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Wanting for more”

Sometimes a book shows its quality when you are finished reading it. This book left me wanting to know more about the history britain, and read more by Robyn Young. I do think it requires alot of skil to write a story... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

“Up there with the best!”

I read lots of historical fiction, but rarely find anything that compares to my favourite authors, Sharon Penman and Elizabeth Chadwick. This did. The level of detail was amazing, and the characterisation was really... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

“A Decent attempt”

Good re-telling the story of Robert The Bruce. Not up to Tranter or indeed an earlier The Lion Is Come but good never the less. Historically the actual facts were there along with the speculation about the motives... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.