Insurrection: Robert The Bruce, Insurrection Trilogy Book 1 - Insurrection Trilogy (Paperback)
  • Insurrection: Robert The Bruce, Insurrection Trilogy Book 1 - Insurrection Trilogy (Paperback)
zoom

Insurrection: Robert The Bruce, Insurrection Trilogy Book 1 - Insurrection Trilogy (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 672 Pages
Published: 04/08/2011
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The first book in the Insurrection trilogy, which tells the thrilling story of Robert the Bruce.

1286 A.D. Scotland is in the grip of the worst winter in living memory. Some say the Day of Judgement has arrived.

The King of Scotland rides out from Edinburgh into the stormy night. On the road he is murdered by one of his own men, leaving the succession to the throne wide open. Civil war threatens as the powerful Scottish families jostle for power, not knowing that King Edward I of England has set his own plans for conquest in motion.

But all is not destined to go Edward's way. Through the ashes of war, through blood feuds and divided loyalties, a young squire will rise to defy England's greatest king. His name is Robert Bruce.

Insurrection is the first in an addictive and action-packed trilogy in the tradition of Conn Iggulden, Bernard Cornwell and Manda Scott.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9780340963661
Number of pages: 672
Weight: 520 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 42 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Immaculately researched and carefully written, evoking a very particular - and largely unexplored - time and place. The fights are sensational. - Daily Telegraph

Young's fans will not be disappointed as she meticulously ploughs through the sweep of history and brings to life one of its most enigmatic characters - Daily Mail

It is so graphic you can immediately put yourself there, imagining the faces and the clash of weapons. It also elaborates on the historical context and fleshes out the characters. It draws you in and is a compelling novel you cannot put down. So much research must have gone into the book; the detail is incredible. I enjoyed it so much. - The BBC Radio 2 Simon Mayo Book Club

Richly worked and captivating . . . an epic story of war, intrigue and heroism - Good Book Guide on BRETHREN

The fast and furious start to a majestic new trilogy - Women and Home

Leads you in swiftly and doesn't let you go - Australian Women's Weekly

This tale captures the struggles of a tumultuous time - Australian Daily Telegraph

another fine novel by Young and a promising start to an exciting new series - Canberra Times

This is a big book, and the trilogy a huge project to undertake. From the evidence so far, Young's fans will not be disappointed as she meticulously ploughs through the sweep of history and brings to life one of its most enigmatic characters - Daily Mail

Action-packed historical novel about Robert The Bruce. A fighting start to a new trilogy. - Sun

Ideal for anyone who loves historical fiction and anyone else who wants a well written and intricate read - Sentinel (Staffordshire)

A cracking plot and charismatic characters are set against the convincingly researched background of the violent, gory Anglo-Scottish civil wars - Saga

Given the events are fixed in historical fiction, the trick is to find supplementary reasons for actions, and Young's conceit - that Edward I is trying to capture four relics (one of which is the Stone of Destiny) - gives a great ulterior motivation. The learning is never cumbersome, a deft trick when describing medieval warfare in all its clunking barbarism. - Scotsman

Young writes with remarkable accuracy, action-packed efficiency and gut-wrenching violence - The Times on REQUIEM

An outstanding contemporary writer - Kate Mosse on Robyn Young

A sweeping historical adventure as well as a cracking sequel - Financial Times on CRUSADE

One of the best historical debuts in recent memory. Exciting and enthralling. - John Connolly on BRETHREN

Wonderful . . . loaded with atmosphere, action, and intrigue - Steve Berry on BRETHREN

Like Young's other historical novels, INSURRECTION is meticulously researched . . . a treat for any fans of the Scottish Wars of Independence. - Historical Novel Review

You may also be interested in...

Heresy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
London
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Clan of the Cave Bear
Added to basket
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket

“Up there with the best!”

I read lots of historical fiction, but rarely find anything that compares to my favourite authors, Sharon Penman and Elizabeth Chadwick. This did. The level of detail was amazing, and the characterisation was really... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 39

“A Decent attempt”

Good re-telling the story of Robert The Bruce. Not up to Tranter or indeed an earlier The Lion Is Come but good never the less. Historically the actual facts were there along with the speculation about the motives... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 37

“Wanting for more”

Sometimes a book shows its quality when you are finished reading it. This book left me wanting to know more about the history britain, and read more by Robyn Young. I do think it requires alot of skil to write a story... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 35

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: