In Your Face: The Hidden History of Plastic Surgery and Why Looks Matter (Paperback)
  • In Your Face: The Hidden History of Plastic Surgery and Why Looks Matter (Paperback)
zoom

In Your Face: The Hidden History of Plastic Surgery and Why Looks Matter (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 304 Pages / Published: 13/05/2013
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

A fascinating, fact-filled, lively exploration of the philosophy and psychology of beauty and the evolution of plastic surgery. We humans have been modifying our faces for centuries - from medieval face-pulling competitions (often fatal) and criminal punishment in ancient India (rhinokopia), to post-war reconstructive surgery and contemporary cosmetic surgery. But what is it that compels us to go 'under the knife'? Is it simply the pursuit of beauty, or is it a deeper drive for survival? And why, with all our advances in medical science, does some plastic surgery look so bad? You can open any women's magazine and find at least one article showing some celebrity's cosmetic surgery gone wrong, often resulting in that familiar and laughable but tragic 'wind tunnel' face. The truthis that kind of look is not really plastic surgery at all - it's cosmetic surgery done by underqualified practitioners using outdated techniques. It shouldn't happen. This book shows you why and how. In the tradition of The Brain That Changes Itself; Guns, Germs & Steel and Salt and Orchid fever, thislively exploration of the history and science of plastic surgery looks at 500 years of the face - what we do to it, what it means for us, and what the future holds.

Publisher: Hardie Grant Books
ISBN: 9781742701233
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 340 g
Dimensions: 233 x 160 x 18 mm

You may also be interested in...

Sorry for Your Trouble
Added to basket
Mini Zoltar
Added to basket
£9.99
Mixed media product
The War on the West
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Harry Potter Hogwarts Castle and Sticker Book
Added to basket
Everyday Magic
Added to basket
£7.99
Mixed media product
Dinosaur Therapy
Added to basket
Diddly Squat
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Renegades
Added to basket
£35.00   £30.00
Hardback
The War on the West
Added to basket
Harry Potter Screaming Mandrake
Added to basket
£10.99
General merchandise
Harry Potter Light Up Divination Crystal Ball
Added to basket
The View Was Exhausting
Added to basket
D&D Mini Dice Dungeon
Added to basket
£9.99
General merchandise
The Sound of Being Human
Added to basket
Talking to Strangers
Added to basket
Bob Ross by the Numbers
Added to basket
£7.99
Mixed media product

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.