In Your Face: The Hidden History of Plastic Surgery and Why Looks Matter (Paperback)
  • In Your Face: The Hidden History of Plastic Surgery and Why Looks Matter (Paperback)
zoom

In Your Face: The Hidden History of Plastic Surgery and Why Looks Matter (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 304 Pages / Published: 13/05/2013
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A fascinating, fact-filled, lively exploration of the philosophy and psychology of beauty and the evolution of plastic surgery. We humans have been modifying our faces for centuries - from medieval face-pulling competitions (often fatal) and criminal punishment in ancient India (rhinokopia), to post-war reconstructive surgery and contemporary cosmetic surgery. But what is it that compels us to go 'under the knife'? Is it simply the pursuit of beauty, or is it a deeper drive for survival? And why, with all our advances in medical science, does some plastic surgery look so bad? You can open any women's magazine and find at least one article showing some celebrity's cosmetic surgery gone wrong, often resulting in that familiar and laughable but tragic 'wind tunnel' face. The truthis that kind of look is not really plastic surgery at all - it's cosmetic surgery done by underqualified practitioners using outdated techniques. It shouldn't happen. This book shows you why and how. In the tradition of The Brain That Changes Itself; Guns, Germs & Steel and Salt and Orchid fever, thislively exploration of the history and science of plastic surgery looks at 500 years of the face - what we do to it, what it means for us, and what the future holds.

Publisher: Hardie Grant Books
ISBN: 9781742701233
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 340 g
Dimensions: 233 x 160 x 18 mm

You may also be interested in...

Hell's Angels
Added to basket
Reality is Broken
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Gang Leader for a Day
Added to basket
Mona Lisa to Marge
Added to basket
Recipe for Life
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Vader's Little Princess
Added to basket
My Future Listography
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
MOD
Added to basket
MOD
£12.99
Paperback
Oxford Dictionary of English Idioms
Added to basket
The Bear
Added to basket
£21.95
Hardback
Girls to the Front
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Tipping Point
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Life After Dark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Deluxe
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.