In the Wars: An uplifting, life-enhancing autobiography, a poignant story of the power of resilience (Paperback)
  • In the Wars: An uplifting, life-enhancing autobiography, a poignant story of the power of resilience (Paperback)
zoom

In the Wars: An uplifting, life-enhancing autobiography, a poignant story of the power of resilience (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 320 Pages
Published: 23/06/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

From growing up in war-torn Afganistan and refugee camps in Pakistan to studying medicine at Cambridge University and becoming an NHS doctor, Dr Waheed Arian’s inspirational life story is a testament to the remarkable contributions refugees make to the their new home countries.

Born in war-torn Afghanistan, Waheed Arian's first memories are of bombs. His first-hand experience of the power of medicine inspired him to dedicate his life to healing others. But how does a boy with nothing hope to become a doctor?

Fleeing the conflict with his family, he spent much of his childhood in refugee camps in Pakistan, living sometimes ten to a room without basic sanitation or access to education. Waheed largely taught himself, from textbooks bought from street-sellers, and learned English from the BBC World Service. Smuggled to the UK at fifteen with just a hundred dollars in his pocket, he found a job in a shop. He was advised to set his sights on becoming a taxi driver. But the boy from Kabul had bigger ambitions.

Working through PTSD and anxiety, he studied all hours to achieve his vocation. He was accepted to read medicine at Cambridge University, Imperial College and Harvard, and went on to become a doctor in the NHS, currently in A&E on the Covid frontline. But he wanted to do more. In 2015 he founded Arian Teleheal, a pioneering global charity that connects doctors in war zones and low-resource countries with their counterparts in the US, UK, Europe and Australia. Together, learning from each other, they save and change lives - the lives of millions of people just like Waheed.

For readers of Educated and War Doctor, this is the extraordinary memoir of a boy who recognized the power of education and dreamed about helping others. It is a tale of courage, ambition and unwavering resilience in the face of all the challenges that life can throw in your way.

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9780552177641
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 220 g
Dimensions: 198 x 127 x 19 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A thrilling and absorbing read from first to last. What a life and what an inspiration.' - STEPHEN FRY

'Anyone who reads Dr Arian's remarkable memoir will put it down inspired by the immense power and resilience of the human will. Spanning from war-wracked Kabul to the lecture halls of Cambridge, Dr Arian tells a riveting story of loss, exile, and rebirth. At a time when displacement has become increasingly politicized, this book is a gift, a dazzling testimony to the extraordinary contributions that refugees make to the host communities that welcome them.' - KHALED HOSSEINI

'A phenomenal story of a boy's realisation that saving others was the way to help himself. From war in Afghanistan to refugee camps and escaping to Britain, he understood that by educating himself he could benefit the world.' - Alice Thompson, THE TIMES

'A powerful, heart-warming account of a young man's escape from war and deprivation to extraordinary success in serving the people of his new country. his is a book which thoroughly deserves to be read and celebrated. I was moved and delighted by it.' - JOHN SIMPSON

'A story of astonishing resilience. An incredible story about an incredible man.' - DAVID BECKHAM

An immensely powerful and moving account of a child who endured war, trauma, displacement and racism, yet who never faltered in his passion to help others through becoming a doctor. Dr Arian's journey, resilience and heart are truly remarkable. - DR RACHEL CLARKE

'An extraordinary achievement' - ALAN JOHNSON

'A remarkable story. I thought this book was brilliant.' - NAGA MUNCHETTY

'A story of unflinching, relentless determination to fulfil a dream...The reader discovers that miracles can and do happen when intelligence and resolve meet individuals and institutions prepared to offer a helping hand.' - Filippo Grandi, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

'A moving and amazing story.' - SUNDAY MORNING LIVE

· 'An NHS hero.' - THE MIRROR

· '(Waheed's) life story is utterly remarkable.' - THE JEREMY VINE SHOW

· 'An inspiration.' - EDDIE NESTOR, BBC Radio London

· 'Waheed's story is one of ambition, hope, healing past traumas, inspiration, giving, generosity and compassion and moving the needle of progress. I can't recommend his book enough.' - THE EMMA GUNS SHOW

· 'One of the most incredible life stories... A lesson to be drawn for others.' - JAMES O’BRIEN

· 'Unbelievably inspiring . . .everyone has to read In the Wars,' - MO GAWDAT

· 'One of the most incredible stories. So much so that it genuinely sounds as unbelievable as the plot of a Hollywood movie.' - DR RUPY AUJLA

· 'A moving and amazing story.' - SUNDAY MORNING LIVE

A vivid memoir. It's such a moving journey and horribly topical. - Michael Berkeley, BBC Radio 3 Private Passions

You may also be interested in...

Abroad in Japan
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Ship Beneath the Ice
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Strong Female Character
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
The Trading Game
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Kammy
Added to basket
£22.00   £19.99
Hardback
I Want to Die but I Want to Eat Tteokbokki
Added to basket
The Making of the Modern Middle East
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Everything I Know About Love
Added to basket
Knife
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
My Name is Barbra
Added to basket
£35.00   £27.99
Hardback
Alan Partridge: Big Beacon
Added to basket
£25.00   £18.99
Hardback
Landlines
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Twat Files
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Keira & Me
Added to basket
£18.99   £13.99
Hardback
Politics On the Edge
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
How Does She Do It?
Added to basket
£22.00   £15.99
Hardback

“Inspiring autobiography”

The blurb of this book piqued my interest, I'm so glad I chose to read it.



Waheed Arian is an inspiration to us all, he battles adversity to follow his goal and although he takes a different path from many... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

“Inspiring and readable book”

This is such an inspiring book. Tracing Waheed’s life from war torn Afghanistan to the success he has achieved many years later. A potted but clear history of the country and the difficulties of existing among the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

“An inspiring and rewarding read”

This is such an inspiring book. Tracing Waheed’s life from war torn Afghanistan to the success he has achieved many years later. A potted but clear history of the country and the difficulties of existing among the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: