In the Garden of the Fugitives (Paperback)
  • In the Garden of the Fugitives (Paperback)
zoom

In the Garden of the Fugitives (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 04/04/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 5 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A brilliant young woman and an older, more powerful man in a tale of slow-burning obsession and retribution - for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Rachel Cusk

'This psychological thriller examines what happens when the lines between victim and predator, loyalty and obsession become blurred' Mail on Sunday

'Spellbinding' Anna Funder

'Precise, cool, complex' Observer

'Striking, stylish, compelling... Her language is perfectly measured, her imagery precise, the settings lush and tactile, gorgeously rendered' Sydney Morning Herald

Vita is an undergraduate when she catches the attention of Royce. She is sharply focused, slightly solitary, evidently gifted. Something in her reminds him of his own youth, of the woman he loved then and of what happened to her. So he grants her a scholarship - a transaction that will bind her to him, in subtle and inescapable ways, for the rest of her life.

What passes between them haunts Vita for years. She spends her life playing cat and mouse with his shadow, seeing it slip across the mountains behind her, feeling its chill at her back. So when, decades later, Royce gets in touch once again, Vita has her own reasons for responding. He still sees her as the helpless ingenue. But she is not that any more.

'Dovey does not shy away from bluntly confronting big questions head-on... Trembling with meaning, unsettlingly alive, a literary page-turner' Kirkus

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241982433
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 223 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 19 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This psychological thriller examines what happens when the lines between victim and predator, loyalty and obsession become blurred' * Mail on Sunday *
Spellbinding -- Anna Funder
Precise, cool, complex... [A] meditation on the gift of privilege * Observer *
Dovey does not shy away from bluntly confronting big questions head-on... Trembling with meaning, unsettlingly alive, sweeping both geographically and intellectually; a literary page-turner * Kirkus *
Gracefully constructed * Booklist (starred review) *

You may also be interested in...

Hamnet
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Such a Fun Age
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
The Giver of Stars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
Troy
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
Ghosts
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Girl A
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.