In My Dreams I Hold a Knife (Paperback)
  • In My Dreams I Hold a Knife (Paperback)
zoom

In My Dreams I Hold a Knife (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 20/07/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Beautiful writing, juicy secrets... and drumbeat suspense.' Andrea Bartz

Six friends. One college reunion. One unsolved murder.

Ten years after graduation, Jessica Miller has planned every detail of her triumphant return to Duquette university. Everyone will see who she wants them to see – confident, beautiful, indifferent. Not the girl she was before, back when Heather Shelby's murder fractured everything.

But not everyone is ready to move on. Someone is determined to make the guilty pay. When Jessica and her friends are reunited, they are forced to confront not only what happened that night, but the secrets they would do anything to hide.

Told in racing dual timelines, with a dark campus setting, In My Dreams I Hold A Knife is an addictive, propulsive read you won't be able to put down.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781035904945
Number of pages: 336
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"[A] captivating debut...Winstead does an expert job keeping the reader guessing whodunit. Suspense fans will eagerly await her next." -- Publishers Weekly "A college reunion brings together a group of friends once shattered by a vicious crime in this thrilling debut, reminiscent of Cruel Intentions, Heathers, and, of course, the Secret History." -- CrimeReads "A twisty, dark puzzle...Fans of books such as The Girl on the Train and Gone Girl will find this book captivating, as will anyone who enjoys being led down a winding, frightening path. Highly recommended." -- New York Journal of Books "An unsolved murder, dark secrets and dysfunctional college days, all wrapped up in a twisty plot that will keep you flipping pages." -- Darby Kane, #1 internationally bestselling author of Pretty Little Wife "Ashley Winstead's mordant debut novel is the latest entry in the budding subgenre of "dark academia," where the crime narrative takes place on a college campus...At its heart, Winstead's novel examines what it means to covet the lives of others, no matter the cost." -- The New York Times "Fans of The Secret History, Ruth Ware, and Andrea Bartz will devour this dark academic thriller with an addictive locked-room mystery at its core... the definition of compulsive reading. The last page will give you nightmares." -- Amy Gentry, bestselling author of Good as Gone

You may also be interested in...

The Housemaid Is Watching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In Too Deep
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Resurrection Walk
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Year of the Locust
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi
Added to basket
My Father's House
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Perfect for fans of The Secret History!”

Ooh this was good and clever and a big f you to toxic masculinity and elitism and academic pressures and I liked it. I liked it a lot.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“So good!”

I really liked this novel. I did find it a little slow to start, but by about the third chapter the pacing picked up and I was well and truly hooked.

Jessica is a wonderfully awful character, as are the majority of... More

Paperback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Very Gripping!”

I started this book late afternoon sat outside... and finished it in work the next day - I just couldn't put it down! This story is told in a dual timeline, with each chapter alternating between the present day,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: