In Dark Water: A compulsive Scottish detective novel - Detective Shona Oliver (Paperback)
  • In Dark Water: A compulsive Scottish detective novel - Detective Shona Oliver (Paperback)
zoom

In Dark Water: A compulsive Scottish detective novel - Detective Shona Oliver (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 24/06/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Beneath the surface lie deadly secrets...

DI Shona Oliver agreed to move to Dumfries with her ex-banker husband when their teenage daughter got in with a bad crowd in London. As a Glasgow native, she's back on home turf.

Living on the shores of the Solway Firth allows Shona to continue as an RNLI volunteer, and a call out to recover a woman's body indicates foul play. Police in Cumbria take the case but links back to Scotland keep Shona's team involved. As they investigate, reports of people trafficking and a spate of thefts from local shops compete for attention with a large scale drug bust. But Shona's work may all be in vain when those close to her threaten to tear the case apart - and ruin Shona in the process.

An unforgettable debut novel by a Scottish crime writer to watch, for fans of Val McDermid, Marion Todd and Lin Anderson.

Praise for In Dark Water

'A stunning and beautifully observed novel. Shona Oliver is a well drawn figure, engaging a lot of empathy from the reader in this absolutely fantastic debut.' Caro Ramsay, author of Absolution

'A thrilling new voice in Scottish crime fiction.' Marion Todd, author of See Them Run

'A fast-paced debut detective novel set on the shores of the Solway Firth' The Herald

'Being an avid reader, particularly in Scottish Crime fiction, this book, not to mention the author, is up there with the best and in Shona Oliver, we have a character in whom I hope there is considerable mileage.' NetGalley review

'What a ride! Lynne McEwan pulled me in and wouldn't let me go!' NetGalley review

'In Dark Water is a very well written suspense novel. There are enough twists and turns to keep you interested until the very end... The descriptions were so vivid it made me feel as if I was right there in Scotland. The characters were well-crafted and the ending was a surprise.' NetGalley review

Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 9781800324329
Number of pages: 368
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm

You may also be interested in...

Marple: Twelve New Stories
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
No Plan B
Added to basket
£22.00   £15.99
Hardback
Apples Never Fall
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Christie Affair
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Murder On The Christmas Express
Added to basket
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lighthouse Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Bullet that Missed
Added to basket
A Heart Full of Headstones
Added to basket
£22.00   £15.99
Hardback

“A Great New Series.”

This is book one in a new Scottish crime thriller series featuring Detective Shona Oliver.
This first novel sets the scene of why Shona, her husband and teenage daughter have moved to Dumfries and exposes the dynamics... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Great start to a series”

DI Shona Oliver had worked in London for many years but when her daughter Becca, got in with a bad crowd & her husband was made redundant they moved to Dumfries where the pace of life is slower & where Rob... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3
Fictionophile

“Promising start to a new Scottish Noir police procedural crime series!”

"In Dark Water" marks the beginning of what I believe to be a promising new Scottish noir police procedural series.

The setting, characters, and plot were all well developed and the story immersive. It... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.