I'm Actually Really Grown-Up Now (Hardback)
  • I'm Actually Really Grown-Up Now (Hardback)
zoom

I'm Actually Really Grown-Up Now (Hardback)

(author)
£11.99
Hardback 32 Pages / Published: 22/08/2019
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Perfect for fans of Shirley Hughes, I'm Actually Really Grown-Up now is a warm and funny story from the creator of Anna and Otis.

"Inclusive illustrations are bright, busy and drawn with charming naivety"
Praise for Anna and Otis - The Sunday Times

The grown-ups are having a party, and Meena would really love to join in but instead she's sent to bed. Only grown-ups get to stay up late. So the next day she makes a very important announcement to her parents: "I'm actually really grown-up now!"

In this very funny story we join Meena as she plans her very own grown-up party and explores what it REALLY means to be a grown up. She has a lot of fun experimenting with fashion, going to work and party planning, but she soon finds out that being grown-up might not always be as easy as it seems.

I'm Actually Really Grown-Up Now by Maisie Shearring is the follow-up to the wonderful Anna and Otis. Maisie has a special talent for capturing the bittersweet highs and lows of childhood and the humour to be found in everyday situations.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781509834556
Number of pages: 32
Weight: 388 g
Dimensions: 286 x 244 x 11 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
We've all heard kids declare themselves grown-up, but sometimes they need to stop racing ahead. This funny picture book with busy and colourful illustrations is about "independence, self-esteem and knowing when to stop being grown-up!" It's Shearring's follow-up to her acclaimed Anna and Otis, about overcoming fears and making friends. The author has a special talent for capturing the highs and lows of childhood. When Meena realises being grown-up means unpacking the shopping and putting the food away, it isn't quite as fun as she expected * I News *
Parents of children who have desperately wanted to stay up and be part of a grown-up party will recognise Meena's fear of missing out, and Shearring's book is a great way to remind children that sometimes, adults need to have fun with their friends just like kids need to enjoy being kids (and, maybe, adult parties might even be a bit boring). Shearring's illustration is always full of verve and fun (mum and dad's expressions when being woken up after the party are brilliant) and her depiction of a modern family is lovely * BookTrust *
beautifully illustrated and written * Express *

You may also be interested in...

Grandad's Camper
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Magic Pet Shop: Starpuff
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Zog
Added to basket
Zog
£6.99
Paperback
Zog and the Flying Doctors
Added to basket
Nature Trail
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
You Can't Let an Elephant Drive a Racing Car
Added to basket
The Queen's Hat
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Fairy
Added to basket
The Gruffalo
Added to basket
£6.99
Board book
The Gruffalo
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Octopants: The Missing Pirate Pants
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Stick Man
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Elmer
Added to basket
£6.99
Board book
Superworm Anniversary foiled edition PB
Added to basket
The Hugasaurus
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Snail and the Whale
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.