If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go (Hardback)
  • If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go (Hardback)
zoom

If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 336 Pages
Published: 30/10/2014

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

An outstanding debut for readers of Jennifer Egan, Alice Hoffman and Anne Tyler, set in a Long Island community in the early 1970s.

'Nostalgic, utterly compelling and very, very cool... Mind-blowingly impressive' Eva Rice, author of THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS

Judy Chicurel's exquisitely written debut evokes the atmosphere of a 1970s summer in a close-knit working class community on Long Island. For readers of Jennifer Egan, Alice Hoffman and Anne Tyler

Katie and her young friends face a changing world, with prospects very different from those presented to their parents. The Vietnam War seems pointless to many but has devastated lives that remain broken even after the fighting is over. As, with bittersweet humour, the characters' experiences unfold, daily events mirror bigger issues: an illegal abortion is plotted; the town is sinking into an economic abyss forcing Katie's friends to leave in search of more promising horizons; drugs claim the lives of those often too high to recognise the danger until it is too late; and Katie dreams of a boy back from Nam who's still fighting a battle she doesn't understand.

IF I KNEW YOU WERE GOING TO BE THIS BEAUTIFUL, I NEVER WOULD HAVE LET YOU GO touchingly conveys the magic of everyday living during a darkened time.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472221650
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 472 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 32 mm

You may also be interested in...

A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
This Family
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Old God's Time
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: