Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go (Hardback)
  • If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go (Hardback)
zoom

If I Knew You Were Going To Be This Beautiful, I Never Would Have Let You Go (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 30/10/2014
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

An outstanding debut for readers of Jennifer Egan, Alice Hoffman and Anne Tyler, set in a Long Island community in the early 1970s.

'Nostalgic, utterly compelling and very, very cool... Mind-blowingly impressive' Eva Rice, author of THE LOST ART OF KEEPING SECRETS

Judy Chicurel's exquisitely written debut evokes the atmosphere of a 1970s summer in a close-knit working class community on Long Island. For readers of Jennifer Egan, Alice Hoffman and Anne Tyler

Katie and her young friends face a changing world, with prospects very different from those presented to their parents. The Vietnam War seems pointless to many but has devastated lives that remain broken even after the fighting is over. As, with bittersweet humour, the characters' experiences unfold, daily events mirror bigger issues: an illegal abortion is plotted; the town is sinking into an economic abyss forcing Katie's friends to leave in search of more promising horizons; drugs claim the lives of those often too high to recognise the danger until it is too late; and Katie dreams of a boy back from Nam who's still fighting a battle she doesn't understand.

IF I KNEW YOU WERE GOING TO BE THIS BEAUTIFUL, I NEVER WOULD HAVE LET YOU GO touchingly conveys the magic of everyday living during a darkened time.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472221650
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 472 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'A really wonderful book that will capture your heart and occupy your thoughts' * SUNDAY MIRROR *
Raw, nostalgic, utterly compelling and very, very cool... A mind-blowingly impressive debut -- Eva Rice
'Tender and brave storytelling' * GRAZIA *
Despite the dark sides, If I Knew is gorgeous and thoughtful; a compelling, wonderful look at a particular point in time * EMERALD STREET *
Chicurel's novel has its dark moments, but the overriding sentiment is one of acceptance, resilience and the enduring power of friendship. A coming-of-age-tale with a haunting quality 4* * The Lady *
The story hooked me in so I felt the characters' pain and hope * WOMAN & HOME *
Beautifully written prose... Rarely do books evoke so viscerally a place, so tangibly a time and such a broad sweep of big themes * Hannah Beckerman *
Beautiful and heart-breaking at once. A mesmerising, compulsive combination -- Adele Parks
This book will haunt you long after you've finished * harpersbazaar.co.uk *
'A thought-provoking debut novel' * CLOSER *
'This love story set in 70s Long Island is guaranteed to have you gripped' * NOW *
Beautifully evocative * Observer *
Chicurel [is] a gifted and versatile writer, and always draws you in * Sunday Express *

You may also be interested in...

The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Find Me
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
The Testaments
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Olive, Again
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Killing Commendatore
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Starless Sea
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Paris Echo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Cockroach
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Olive Kitteridge
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.