• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
I Predict a Riot (Paperback)
  • I Predict a Riot (Paperback)
zoom

I Predict a Riot (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 304 Pages / Published: 05/06/2014
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Explosive, emotional drama from the author of We Can Be Heroes, perfect for fans of Meg Rosoff and Annabel Pitcher. Welcome to Coronation Road - a kaleidoscope of clashing cultures and parallel lives. There's Maggie and her politician mum in their big house. There's Tokes and his mum in a tiny bedsit, running from trouble. And there's the ruthless Starfish gang, breeding fear through the neighbourhood. Amateur film-maker Maggie prefers to watch life through the lens of her camera. In Tokes, she finds a great subject for her new film. And when violence erupts, led by the Starfish gang, Maggie has the perfect backdrop. But as the world explodes around her, Maggie can't hide behind the lens anymore . . . Catherine Bruton is a major voice in young adult fiction, her prose was described by the Sunday Times as witty, wise and compelling. Readers who enjoyed Robin Talley's Lies We Tell Ourselves will be enthralled by this novel about social and racial tensions, inspired by the London riots. Look out for Catherine's other books: We Can Be Heroes Pop After graduating from the University of Oxford, Catherine Bruton began her career as an English teacher and later went on to write feature articles for The Times and other publications. I Predict a Riot is her third novel for Egmont, following We Can Be Heroes and Pop!, which received high acclaim. Catherine lives near Bath with her husband and two children.

Publisher: Egmont UK Ltd
ISBN: 9781405267199
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 216 g
Dimensions: 199 x 129 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
`Witty, wise and compelling' * Sunday Times *
`Deserves high praise' * Evening Standard *
`Outstanding. A big, brave debut' * The Bookseller *

You may also be interested in...

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Hard Luck (Diary of a Wimpy Kid book 8)
Added to basket
Mr Stink
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Tales of Beedle the Bard
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
Matilda
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The World's Worst Children
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Nevermoor: Nevermoor
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Old School
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
Kid Normal
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Place Called Perfect
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The House with Chicken Legs
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“I Predict a Riot”

I didn't love Maggie's character but I enjoyed the story which is inspired by the riots which took place in London and other places.

Although Catherine Bruton has written a work of fiction here, it... More

Paperback edition
3rd March 2014
Helpful? Upvote 21

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.