Find your perfect holiday reading
I Looked Away (Paperback)
  • I Looked Away (Paperback)
zoom

I Looked Away (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99 £5.99
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 27/06/2019
  • Save £2.00
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

YOU MADE A MISTAKE. BUT THEY'RE SAYING IT'S MURDER.

'A fearsomely good thriller' Nicci French

'Sensitive and thought-provoking' Adele Parks

'Thrilling, emotional and pacy with a clever twist I didn't expect' Claire Douglas

From the Sunday Times bestselling author of My Husband's Wife, comes a beautifully written psycholgocial thriller for fans of Lisa Jewell and Clare Mackintosh.
_____________________________________

Every Monday, 49-year-old Ellie looks after her grandson Josh. She loves him more than anyone else in the world. The only thing that can mar her happiness is her husband's affair. But he swears it's over now, and Ellie has decided to be thankful for what she's got.

Then one day, while she's looking after Josh, her husband gets a call from that woman. And just for a moment, Ellie takes her eyes off her grandson. What happens next will change her life forever.

Because Ellie is hiding something in her past.

And what looks like an accident could start to look like murder...

_____________________________________

PRAISE FOR JANE CORRY - QUEEN OF THE TWISTY THRILLER:

'Compulsive, edgy and with some fabulous twists that I didn't see coming!' B A Paris

'Beautifully written' Peter James

'A 'keep you up all night' thriller with a very big heart. I loved it' Kate Hamer

'I raced through this - staying up FAR too late to finish' Teresa Driscoll

'Fans of psychological thrillers will be hooked after the first page' Closer

'Psychological thriller writing at its very best' SD Sykes

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241984635
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 351 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Thrilling, emotional and pacy with a clever twist I didn't expect -- Claire Douglas
Sensitive and thought-provoking -- Adele Parks
An intelligent thriller, rich with emotion and compelling characters. -- Luana Lewis
A powerful portrait of the family ties that can both nurture and damage us. A compulsive read. -- Gilly MacMillan, author of 'The Nanny'
Jane Corry portrays the best and worst in people with a warmth and acumen that draws the reader into their experience and makes it wholly believable -- Karen Byrom * My Weekly *
As compellingly page-turning as it is emotionally tender. Jane Corry again has written a 'keep you up all night' thriller with a very big heart. I loved it. -- Kate Hamer
Intriguing and thought-provoking * Woman and Home 'Best Books of Summer 2019' *
I highly recommend to anyone -- Sarah Simpson, author of 'Her Greatest Mistake'
A gripping story with all the twists, emotional resonance and clever layering that Jane Corry does so brilliantly. I raced through this - staying up FAR too late to finish. -- Teresa Driscoll
Jane Corry goes from strength to strength and I Looked Away is her boldest yet because it not only tackles tough situations but reminds us that it's love that redeems -- Elizabeth Buchan, author of 'Consider the Lily'
Beautifully written, complex and utterly gripping. I always feel safe in Jane Corry's hands -- Emma Curtis
Powerful, emotional . . . I couldn't put it down -- Liz Fenwick, author of 'The Path to the Sea'
Brilliantly plotted, deftly woven and heartbreakingly real -- Jane Shemilt
Gripping from start to finish * Take a Break *
A fearsomely good thriller -- Nicci French
Beautifully written...The Dead Ex totally hooked me -- Peter James
Compulsive, edgy and with some fabulous twists that I didn't see coming! -- B A Paris
THRILLER: An Evening with Shari Lapena and Jane Corry

THRILLER: An Evening with Shari Lapena and Jane Corry

Exeter - Roman Gate
Thursday 25th July 19:00

Calling all thriller fans...Why do we love crime and thriller books so much? Two bestselling authors are here to tell us!

View

You may also be interested in...

An Unwanted Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Lost Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Something in the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Murder in Midsummer
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dark Sacred Night
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Target: Alex Cross
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Long Road to Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Smoke and Ashes
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Breath on Dying Embers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Outsider
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Scrublands
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Knife
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Big Sky
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Gripping Story”

I looked away is a gripping physiological thriller told through Ellie a middle aged Grandma and Jo who lives on the streets .Ellie is in prison and we don't know why.This is a story about homelessness,mental... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Emotionally charged with believable characters”

This is the third book I have read by Jane Corry and by far the best. It was obviously well-researched and the descriptions of homeless people were rounded, encompassing all types of folk who find themselves with no... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4
TheReadingDesk

“An amazing psychological thriller”

I Looked Away is a wonderfully crafted and absorbing psychological thriller from the very talented Jane Corry. The novel is cleverly plotted where you know there’s a major twist coming and it teases in the background... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.