I'll Give You the Sun (Paperback)
  • I'll Give You the Sun (Paperback)
zoom

I'll Give You the Sun (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 02/04/2015
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

New York Times bestseller

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize

Winner of the 2015 Michael L. Printz Award

Winner of a 2015 Stonewall Honor

"This is the big one - the BLAZING story of once inseparable twins whose lives are torn apart by tragedy." Entertainment Weekly

From the critically acclaimed author of The Sky Is Every where, a radiant novel that will leave you laughing and crying - all at once. For fans of John Green, Gayle Forman and Lauren Oliver.


Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close - until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don't realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world.

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406326499
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 384 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
[A] breath taking, powerful roller-coaster story * INIS magazine *
Does the almost impossible and improves upon the skill and beauty of The Sky is Everywhere -- Louise O'Neill, author of Only Ever Yours * INIS magazine *
Exceptional . . . a big, intense emotional rollercoaster. . . it is a novel of family conflict and resolution, coming of age, sexual orientation, bereavement; a story of love, at and wonder. Don't miss it * The Bookseller *
An emotional roller coaster of a novel that explores love, relationships, desolation and hope as two twins try to find their way back to each other after a tragedy. Highly recommended. * The Book Bag *
Jandy Nelson captures not only the language of the modern teenager. . . but also the lightning fast thought processes including the pinball-like way that their emotions switch from for to against. * nudge books *
Dazzling * New York Times *
This book will tear through you like a hurricane, leaving you in ruined awe * The Huffington Post *
This (technically) young-adult novel jubilantly holds its own against the fall's grown-up offerings, with dead-on insights about surviving youth-and family * O, the Oprah Magazine *
You'll feel this book in a big way * TeenVogue.com *
A blazing, prismatic explosion of color . . . Nelson's gifts in tackling huge subjects - death, grief, all-consuming love - with humor and gravitas will draw comparisons to the two reigning superstars of non-apocalyptic YA lit, John Green and Rainbow Rowell. But the intensity of her writing stands alone . I'll Give You the Sun is that rare, immersive teen novel: To read it is a coming-of-age experience in itself. * Entertainment Weekly *

My April book of the Month, and one of this year's outstanding YA novels: this is an intense, breathtaking story of two siblings and of love, death, art and wonder.



Fiona Noble

The Bookseller

-- Fiona Noble * The Bookseller *
It is hardly news that YA fiction is all the rage but it is worth stating that it is deservedly so when books like this are being published. [...] this is one of the most relevant and enjoyable books I have read in a long time. -- Hot * Hot *
'I'll Give You The Sun is a breath-taking novel for young adults from the highly acclaimed writer Jandy Nelson. Hailed as 'the next John Green', it quickly becomes apparent why that's the case. Her characters have that same jump-right-off-the-page-and-into-your-heart thing going on. We become wrapped in them as we discover the truths of their minds and hearts. . . For me, these characters are more visceral, more believable, and more human than in anything else I've read. There is so much going on in this book it fills you up and makes you breathless. Noah's character spoke to me in particular; my only gripe with this wonderful book is that I would have loved to have it finish from his point of view. That said, I love it, and I urge you to read it. This is one of those books that if you let it; will change how you see yourself and those around you.' -- Julie Stirling * We Red Writer *
My April book of the Month, and one of this year's outstanding YA novels: this is an intense, breathtaking story of two siblings and of love, death, art and wonder. -- Fiona Noble * The Bookseller *
A radiant novel that will leave you laughing and crying - all at once. -- World Book Day * World Book Day *
A compelling read. -- Reading Zone * Reading Zone *
I reckon it's the best I've read in a long time. Jandy Nelson manages to create an absorbing story not just about brother/sister love, jealousy and rivalry, but if relationships in all their permutations written in a unique style that I found very moving and totally engaging. I would urge people to read it as it's one of those books that stay with you and I will certainly be reading Jandy Nelson's first novel The Sky is Everywhere as, if this book is anything to go by, she is an extremely talented writer. -- New Books Magazine * New Books Magazine *
Nelson really gets inside the teenage mindset, particularly the way her characters struggle with love and relationships. The characters and their voices are so vivid and imaginative, it's hard not to relate to them as if they were real, so despite my initial misgivings, I was still thinking about this a long time after I finished the last page. Highly recommended. -- The Book Bag * The Book Bag *
This is a long book but worth every second of the journey. -- LGBT YA * LGBT YA *
Touching and heartfelt tale of twins for fans of John Green. **** -- Heat Magazine * Heat Magazine *
Stands out in a young adult genre. Intense and wonderful, this is a book to savour. -- Absolutely Wimbledone * Absolutely Wimbledone *
If you love words and those who use them beautifully, this is your book of the year. -- Mountains of Instead * Mountains of Instead *
I found I'll Give You the Sun to be one of the most captivating books I've read. -- The Guardian Online * The Guardian Online *
The words flowed like a poem. Everything was so easy to visualise, so real. The storyline is so crisp and different, so easy to read and not stop reading... -- The Guardian Online * The Guardian Online *
Nelson is definitely one to watch -- S Magazine * S Magazine *
This is young adult realism in Technicolour, saturated with light and punctuated with darkness [...] Nelson is producing the kind of YA books you don't have to be young to read. -- The Herald * The Herald *
Overall this was an amazing read which I can't recommend enough. -- Guardian Children's Book Site * Guardian Children's Book Site *
Each twin speaks in turn through this tale that keeps you wondering which one of them is the reliable narrator. -- Independent Bookshop Week supplement * The Guardian *
This tense, moving and vivid YA novel should appeal to older teenagers who love to immerse themselves in character, language, art, and emotion. * The School Librarian *
An immersive read about love, grief and sculpture, Nelson, who started out as a poet, writes beautifully. -- Sarah Webb * Irish Independent *
Sensual, heart-rending and quirky, this novel is powerfully and poetically told. * Armadillo Magazine *
A rollercoaster story that will pick all readers up and sweep them along in a story that is romantic, tragic, funny and profound. * Love Reading 4 Kids *
Original, ambitious and full of richness and colour, from the author of The Sky Is Everywhere. -- Imogen Russell-Williams * Teens on Moon Lane *
Tough and teary with some challenging moments as the revelations come thick and fast for the grand finale, you'll probably end up reading this yourself (and loving every minute) - it's the sort of book teens will want to discuss for some time after reading. And then they'll probably want to talk about it some more. -- Damian Kelleher * Dad.info *
The book reads like a surreal painting, some gorgeous work of art you might sigh at in a museum, particularly in Noah's narratives, as he paints the world in his mind [...] If you love YA, then definitely pick up a copy of I'll Give You The Sun. Hell, grab a copy even if you don't like YA. You will not regret it. -- Laura Fulton * Maximum Pop! *
Unusually structured and poetically written, I'll Give You the Sun is the story of life, loss and art as twins Noah and Jude each give their perspective on the deterioration of their once close relationship over the course of three years. This is an incredibly visual, quirky and imaginative tale; although the style may not be for everyone, the characters of Jude and Noah are so real and relatable, it is impossible to avoid being drawn into their story. A heartbreaking and heartwarming tale. * Inis Reading Guide *
In the same vein as Nelson's first novel, The Sky is Everywhere, this is an achingly beautiful story for fans of Rainbow Rowell, John Green and Gayle Foreman. Make sure you keep some tissues close by. * The Scotsman *
Time Magazine's Top 100 YA Novels of All Time. * TIME *

You may also be interested in...

House of Hollow
Added to basket
Girl, Missing
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Good Girls Die First
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
All the Bright Places
Added to basket
Solitaire
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
New Moon
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Holes
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Lies Like Wildfire
Added to basket
Witches Steeped in Gold
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air #3)
Added to basket
It's Behind You
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Ways to Be Me
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Yearbook
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback

“A book that makes the walls fall down”

Some books just demand to be read and treasured and this is one of them. Jandy Nelson and her characters bring you in, tip you upside down, and turn you around, remade, at the end. I love the way Noah looks at and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 107
booksteensandmagazines

“worth reading”

The book is told alternately by 13/14 year old Noah and 16 year old Jude. The different perspective, both in terms of the narrator and the time lapse, makes for an interesting read. Noah is drawn to boys and suffers... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 102

“A perfect story”

This is the story of twins, Noah and Jude, who fell apart after a family tragedy and are trying to find there way back to each other. The story is told through two separate time-lines, one through Noah's eyes... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 95

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.