I Don't Know Why She Bothers: Guilt Free Motherhood For Thoroughly Modern Women (Paperback)
  • I Don't Know Why She Bothers: Guilt Free Motherhood For Thoroughly Modern Women (Paperback)
zoom

I Don't Know Why She Bothers: Guilt Free Motherhood For Thoroughly Modern Women (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 22/05/2014
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A timely, intelligent and important book for fans of LEAN IN and Caitlin Moran: why do modern mothers allow themselves to suffer from so much guilt?

Mothering skills are now scrutinised, measured, judged, discussed and disapproved of like never before. The bar is set so preposterously high, it's impossible, at least in the early years, not to feel like a long lost loser: and honestly, mothers only have themselves to blame... Motherly love is ferocious, intense, fathomless, unconditional and absolute. Daisy will add a dusting of reality to the sickly sweet bake-your-own rubbish by covering topics such as breast pumps, other children, sleepovers, swearing (yours and theirs) and contagious diseases.

It's time to burn the maternity bras and Daisy is the first at the stake to exclaim, 'Enough! Life is short. Mothers adore their children. But they're people too. And that is more than just a mother.'

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781780224503
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 232 g
Dimensions: 199 x 131 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
It is a hilarious, timely book - and a rare and potent antidote to the guilt, exhaustion and anxiety that threaten to poison every aspect of modern motherhood. * SUNDAY TIMES *
To read this book as a new mother is to know the pure joy of someone speaking for - and up for - you at a time when you have not the resources to do so yourself...fantastically energetic, heartfelt and witty identification of all the absurdities created by maternal guilt...a hilarious, timely book. -- Lucy Mangan * SUNDAY TIMES *
The provocative I Don't Know Why She Bothers by Daisy Waugh is one for women who feel life is too short to make their own fish fingers! * GOOD HOUSEKEEPING *
Waugh's book is not so much a call for bad mothering to return as a return to a more laissez-faire parenting, liberated from all the fear and guilt women impose on themselves...Waugh is refreshingly frank, swears like a sailor and debunks the sanctification of motherhood with relish....This is probably one of the funniest parenting guides you'll find. * THE OBSERVER *
I Don't Know Why She Bothers isn't a guide or a handbook; it's merely saying what a lot of women think. No doubt the Mumgelicals will want to burn this book and Waugh's effigy, but I think it should be given away free with every pregnancy test. * IRISH INDEPENDENT *
This self-help book deserves pride of place by on slummy-mummy Bridget Darcy's bedside table. * THE METRO *

You may also be interested in...

A Volcano in My Tummy
Added to basket
Go The Fuck To Sleep
Added to basket
How to Help Your Autistic Spectrum Child
Added to basket
The Contented Toddler Years
Added to basket
Secret Child
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
How Do You Tuck In a Superhero?
Added to basket
French Parents Don't Give In
Added to basket
Jo Frost's Toddler SOS
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Get Out of My Life
Added to basket
Secrets Of The Baby Whisperer
Added to basket
The Incredible 5-Point Scale
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.