I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death (Hardback)
  • I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death (Hardback)
zoom

I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death (Hardback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 22/08/2017
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Longlisted for the Wellcome Book Prize 2018

I Am, I Am, I Am is Sunday Times bestseller and Costa Novel-Award winner Maggie O'Farrell's electric and shocking memoir of the near death experiences that have punctuated her life.

When Maggie O'Farrell's daughter was diagnosed with a severe immunology disorder, she found herself writing stories to make sense of how closely with live alongside the possibility of death and the reality of pain. She began to look back at her own life, her own near-fatal illness as a child and the moments through her life where she was forced to look her own mortality in the face.

A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital. This is a memoir with a difference: seventeen encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal to us a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots.

It is a book to make you question yourself: what would you do if your life was in danger? How would you react? And what would you stand to lose?

I am, I am, I am is a book you will finish newly conscious of your own vulnerability, and determined to make every heartbeat count.

A heartfelt and tenaciously powerful condensation of what it means to be alive, this book will appeal to readers of Cheryl Strayed's Wild or Joan Didion's The Year of Magical Thinking.

Waterstones has been a keen early advocate of Maggie O’Farrell since we identified her as a talent to watch in our 25 Authors of the Future list back in 2007 after supporting her brilliant debut After You’d Gone. Since then she’s continued to impress with novels including: Instructions for a HeatwaveThe Hand That First Held Mine (for which she won the Costa Book Award) and This Must Be the Place.

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472240743
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 480 g
Dimensions: 224 x 140 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'If you want evidence that life can be just as dramatic as fiction, you couldn't wish for better than Maggie O'Farrell's stunning memoir.' - Louise Doughty, Guardian Books of the Year

'Maggie O'Farrell is a highly accomplished author with seven novels to her name but she achieves something altogether more powerful and direct in this astonishing memoir... Each chapter is an accomplished piece of memoir writing in its own right. The cumulative effect is extraordinary and I felt my understanding of what it means to be a human and a mother grew. Where other writers may be playing with paper, O'Farrell takes up a bow and arrow and aims right at the human heart.' - Cathy Rentzenbrink, The Times 

'I have never read a book about death that has made me feel so alive. A heart-stopping, addictive read.' - Tracy Chevalier

'I adored every minute. A triumph.' - Joanna Cannon

'Extraordinary. A beautiful testament to courage and grace under fire without an ounce of self-pity.' - Kate Mosse

'It is absolutely, in every possible sense of the word, brilliant. It shines with wit and candour and insight. It is spectacularly moving, funny, impeccably controlled, artful and sincere. It's a gift' - Max Porter

'By turns chilling, terrifying, deeply moving, funny, recognisable, wild, simple, complicated. A rich celebration' - Rachel Joyce

'Quite simply astonishing... reminds the reader of the fierce joy of being alive. To my mind, I AM, I AM, I AM is Maggie O'Farrell's greatest work to date' - Louise O'Neill *

'She is a breathtakingly good writer, and brings all her elegance and poise as a novelist to the story of her own life' - Guardian

'Leaves the reader feeling breathless, grateful and fully alive. Maggie O'Farrell is a miracle in every sense. I will never forget this book' - Ann Patchett

'[An] extraordinary memoir... uncomfortable and compelling... fluent, poised, packed with colourful details' - Observer 

'A mesmerising read' - The Sunday Times 

'It's a prayer for perspective that reminds readers to see every dodged bullet as the gift of new life and a reminder not to sweat the small stuff' - Daily Mail 

'A profoundly affecting, powerful and life-affirming book. If you only read one memoir this year, make it O'Farrell's' - Sunday Express 

'O'Farrell has a compelling and arresting writing style that fills in a scene quickly and engagingly, to great dramatic and narrative effect' - New Statesman 

'Exceptionally accomplished and emotionally sophisticated' - Scotsman 

'O'Farrell's emotional acuity makes it a powerful account of a determined and thoughtful life. Her fiction is always a masterclass in empathy and the same is true of I Am, I Am, I Am which lingers even longer in the memory for being drawn from real life.' - Daily Express 

You may also be interested in...

Good Night Stories for Rebel Girls
Added to basket
Reasons to Stay Alive
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Notes on a Nervous Planet
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Ma'am Darling
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes With Death
Added to basket
Everything I Know About Love
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Queen Victoria
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Step By Step
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
This is Going to Hurt
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
How Not To Be a Boy
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A History of the World in 21 Women
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Choice
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Diary of a Bookseller
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Spy and the Traitor
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
The Billion Dollar Spy
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Becoming
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback

Reviews

View all

“I am, I am, I am”

I'm an avid fan of Maggie O'farrell and was totally gripped from start to finish.
The idea of basing an autobiography around seventeen occasions when death was narrowly missed is unusual to say the least but... More

Hardback edition
7 similar books recommended
27th August 2017
Helpful? Upvote 45

“Looking death in the face and telling the story. Astonishing and brilliant.”

If life teaches us one thing it is that each day is precious and that we need to live each day and grab hold of life and never let, go. The Costa Awarding writer Maggie O’Farrell has released a memoir like no other.... More

Hardback edition
9th October 2017
Helpful? Upvote 31

“Wow!”

Thank you to the publishers for this review copy.
Having never read Maggie O'Farrell's fiction books before I had no idea what to expect from her work (note this is non fiction).
Friends had recommended this... More

Paperback edition
2nd July 2018
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.