Find your perfect holiday reading
I am a Tiger (Paperback)
  • I am a Tiger (Paperback)
zoom

I am a Tiger (Paperback)

(author), (illustrator)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£6.99 £4.99
Paperback 32 Pages / Published: 16/05/2019
  • Save £2.00
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A hilarious and original story about a little mouse with big ideas!

The bold little mouse declares "I am a tiger." and manages to convince a raccoon, a fox, a snake and a bird not only that this is true, but that they are not what they think they are. When a real tiger turns up, can the persuasive and fearless little rodent manage to persuade the tiger that he is a mouse!

With vibrant artwork by award-winning illustrator Ross Collins, and delightful characters created by rising star Karl Newson, I am a Tiger is a story that will amuse and entertain everyone, from the smallest mouse to the biggest tiger.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781509855155
Number of pages: 32
Weight: 195 g
Dimensions: 260 x 260 x 4 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

I AM A TIGER [STARRED REVIEW!] Author: Karl Newson Illustrator: Ross Collins Review Issue Date: June 1, 2019 Online Publish Date: May 8, 2019 Publisher:Scholastic Pages: 32 Price ( Hardcover ): $17.99 Publication Date: July 30, 2019 ISBN ( Hardcover ): 978-1-338-34989-4 Category: Fiction
This mouse has moxie.The titular "tiger" of Newson and Collins' imaginative tale may have been born a mouse, but it's a mouse made up of equal parts imagination and chutzpah. As the story begins, the unnamed, ungendered mouse proclaims proudly: "I am a tiger." As a series of woodland animals begin to argue with the mouse, its claims of tigerhood grow more and more outlandish (and more humorous). When the expected tiger makes its appearance, the mouse doesn't bat an eye as it declares, "You're not a tiger. You're a mouse!" And so begins the second half of the book as the mouse uses its zany logic to define the other animals in the story. The conclusion is open-ended, and readers hungry for more will extend the silliness on their own and hope for a sequel. Newson's fearless tone and Collins' humorous illustrations are a winning combination. The bold cartoons, set against bright, solid-colored backgrounds, are vibrant enough to be seen from the back of the classroom or storyhour room, and the expressions of each animal will definitely inspire rounds of giggles. Fans of David LaRochelle and Mike Wohnoutka's Moo! (2013) and Kevin Sherry's I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean (2007) will add this title to their list of favorites. This is one terrific book. (Picture book. 5-8)

* Kirkus *
Baby Time! Book Club

Baby Time! Book Club

Kendal
Tuesday 30th July 10:00

Come join us for Baby Time Book Club every other Tuesday, we will have story times followed by an excuse to get together with other people who love books.

View
STORY TIME!!

STORY TIME!!

Crawley
Friday 16th August 11:00 - 11:15

join us for story time fun

View
Storytime

Storytime

Harrogate
Sunday 25th August 14:00 - 14:20

Join us for a lovely story.

View

You may also be interested in...

The Girls
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes
Added to basket
Grumpycorn
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Look Up!
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
There's a Dragon in Your Book
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Mermaid
Added to basket
Zog and the Flying Doctors
Added to basket
Oi Duck-billed Platypus!
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn
Added to basket
When a Dragon Comes to Stay
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Oi Dog!
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Supertato Carnival Catastro-Pea!
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Ugly Five
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Guess How Much I Love You
Added to basket
The Gruffalo
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Board book

“Absolutley Hilarious”

Ross Collins is my FAVOURITE children's book illustrator, the way he anthropomorphises animals facial expressions never fails to make me laugh of move me. Its a fantastic read-a-loud tale about a sassy but... More

Paperback edition
10 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.