Hurting Distance: Culver Valley Crime Book 2 - Culver Valley Crime (Paperback)
  • Hurting Distance: Culver Valley Crime Book 2 - Culver Valley Crime (Paperback)
zoom

Hurting Distance: Culver Valley Crime Book 2 - Culver Valley Crime (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 432 Pages
Published: 23/08/2007
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The second stunning thriller from queen of psychological crime, Sophie Hannah, perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins.

'Superbly creepy' Guardian
'Rivetingly original' Sunday Times

Sometimes love must kill before it can die.

Three years ago, something terrible happened to Naomi Jenkins - so terrible that she never told anybody.

Now Naomi has another secret - the man she has fallen passionately in love with, unhappily married Robert Haworth. When Robert vanishes without trace, Naomi knows he must have come to harm. But the police are less convinced, particularly when Robert's wife insists he is not missing.

In desperation, Naomi has a crazy idea. If she can't persuade the police that Robert is in danger, perhaps she can convince them that he is a danger to others. Then they will have to look for him - urgently. Naomi knows how to describe in detail the actions of a psychopath. All she needs to do is dig up her own troubled past . . .

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9780340840344
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 340 g
Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A superbly creepy, twisty thriller about obsessive love, psychological torture, and the darkest chambers of the human heart - The Times

Hair-raising psychological thriller - SHE

An utterly gripping plot, this is the standout thriller of the year - Read of the Year, Elle

Here's a psychological thriller that gets its hooks into you and refuses to let go - The Sunday Times

Sophie Hannah's LITTLE FACE startled the British thriller market a year ago, and her new book is another superbly creepy foray in the genre. The plots are brilliant - I couldn't see through this one at all - Guardian

Hurting Distance confirms Sophie Hannah as a rivetingly original arrival in crime fiction - The Sunday Times

What makes this novel work so well is that more than one character has a bit of a screw loose - even the detectives on the case are grappling with some crippling personal issues - and it takes the full ride of the novel to find out who is playing whom. - Time Out

Hannah's second novel is a beautifully written chiller-thriller about the after-effect of rape. It grips from start to finish. . . I couldn't put it down - Literary Review

This is a far better-written book than any genre label might suggest. Hannah is a respected poet and uses the fascinating motif of the sundial not only to provide the reader with clues but to underline perceptions of life, time and death. It's also significant that she won a Daphne du Maurier award. Her powerful subjects of obsession with the past, and fear in the present, testify that she has made a transition to the narrative world of that iconic writer - Independent

In the world of psychological thrillers, it is rare to come across a novel that conforms absolutely to the rules of the genre at the same time as being genuinely original, satisfyingly unpredictable and totally enthralling. This is what Sophie Hannah has achieved with Hurting Distance, and she's done it with considerable style. - Yorkshire Post

This story is thrilling from the first page . . . This book is not simply a whodunnit. The snappy, witty dialogue and clarity make it a thoroughly entertaining read. I thought I had the whole book pegged after the first chapter, but how wrong I was. Pick it up, but be warned, you won't put it down - Birmingham Post

Another success for this inventive writer - Sunday Telegraph

Tale of obsession and manipulation - Sainsbury's

You may also be interested in...

No Plan B
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Verity
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
In Too Deep
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Murder Game
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
My Father's House
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Holly
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
A Heart Full of Headstones
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Hurting Distance: Culver Valley Crime Book 2”

I started reading this book just after I bought it but not long into it I got too busy to finish it. Today has been a very lazy day at work, so after quickly getting back into the plot I finished the book after 5 and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 32

“A good read!”

This novel was my first introduction to Sophie Hannah, and I was not dissapointed. Crime is not normally one of my favourite genres, in fact it is one which I never touch. But, this was recommended to be by a friend... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

“Hurting Distance: Culver Valley Crime Book 2”

After reading littleface i decided that i would like to read another of her books, and i was not disappointed. This book had so many twists and turns, keeping you interested for the duration. The switching narrative... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: