Click & Collect
from 2 Hours*
Last Christmas
delivery dates
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders over £25 Order in time for Christmas 16th December by 3pm 2nd Class |
19th December by 3pm 1st Class
Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours after you order*
Hurricane Child (Paperback)
  • Hurricane Child (Paperback)
zoom

Hurricane Child (Paperback)

(author)
£6.99
Paperback 240 Pages / Published: 03/06/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Winner of the Stonewall Book Award and the Lambda Literary Award By National Book Award winner Kacen Callender, this exquisite novel reminds us that grief and love can open the world in mystical ways. "The stakes are high, the revelations are serious, and Callender doesn't sugarcoat... But Caroline's insistence on love, no matter what, might just be what young readers need to see." - The New York Times Caroline Murphy is a Hurricane Child. Being born during a hurricane is unlucky, and 12-year-old Caroline has had her share of bad luck lately. She's hated and bullied by everyone in her small school on St. Thomas of the US Virgin Islands, a spirit only she can see won't stop following her, and - worst of all - Caroline's mother left home one day and never came back. But when a new student named Kalinda arrives, Caroline's luck begins to turn around. Kalinda, a solemn girl from Barbados with a special smile for everyone, becomes Caroline's first and only friend -- and the person for whom Caroline has begun to develop a crush. Now, Caroline must find the strength to confront her feelings for Kalinda, brave the spirit stalking her through the islands, and face the reason her mother abandoned her. Together, Caroline and Kalinda must set out in a hurricane to find Caroline's missing mother -- before Caroline loses her for ever. Perfect for fans of Boy At the Back of the Class, Pocketful of Stars, and Rooftoppers. This arresting debut novel won the Stonewall Book Award as well as the Lambda Literary Award. From the author of bestselling Felix Ever After. If you love this story, check out Kacen Callender's National-Book-Award-winning King and the Dragonflies!

Publisher: Scholastic
ISBN: 9780702310218
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 160 g
Dimensions: 199 x 135 x 15 mm

You may also be interested in...

Stories of Unicorns
Added to basket
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
The Smeds and the Smoos
Added to basket
Dog Man
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Christmasaurus and the Naughty List
Added to basket
Fantastic Mr Fox
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Smeds and the Smoos BB
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Board book
The Adventures of Dog Man 2: Unleashed
Added to basket
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Diper Overlode
Added to basket
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Spooky Stories
Added to basket
The 13-Storey Treehouse
Added to basket
The Baddies
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Added to basket
The Boy Who Got Accidentally Famous
Added to basket
Rabbit and Bear: Rabbit's Bad Habits
Added to basket
The Ministry of Unladylike Activity
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.