Find your perfect holiday reading
Hunt For The Bear - Columbus (Paperback)
  • Hunt For The Bear - Columbus (Paperback)
zoom

Hunt For The Bear - Columbus (Paperback)

(author)
£6.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 24/06/2010
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

When he takes a contract, death follows.

Notorious hitman Columbus is known in the trade as a silver bear: an expert assassin who earns top fees because he never defaults on a contract.

Columbus believes himself immune to the pressures of his chosen life. But after a mission to take out a prominent mark on the streets of Paris, suddenly Columbus finds himself in a new position - as a target.

Taut, intense, and action-packed, HUNT FOR THE BEAR is a cinematic thriller for fans of Robert Ludlum and Lee Child, and stars the same lead character as Haas's tense and disturbing debut thriller THE SILVER BEAR.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9780340976647
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 256 g
Dimensions: 199 x 130 x 29 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Haas takes his title character - and the reader - one step further by yanking down the barrier between antihero and audience . . . a nifty modern riff on pulp-fiction . . . a persuasive moral relativism * Las Vegas Weekly *
Impossible not to like . . . engagingly offhand narration . . . Recommended to fans of the Dexter novels, as well as readers of Barry Eisler's John Rain novels, or Lawrence Block's stories about Keller the killer. * Booklist *
Elements of the Robert Ludlum books about Jason Bourne, with a little bit of Grosse Point Blank . . . stylishly written, and could easily be the makings of a film . . . the story is a good one and it's an entertaining read * EuroCrime.co.uk *
A straight-out thriller that moves at an arrow's pace . . . blunt and forceful, crudely elegant in its own beautiful way * truecrimereport.com *
Columbus [US title for HUNT FOR THE BEAR] is absolutely one of the best reads I've had this year . . . Haas is a guy whose work I'll pick up any time he publishes. He's that strong a writer, and Columbus is that strong a book * HitFix.com *
A short, sharp, electric shock of a book * Shots Ezine on THE SILVER BEAR *
A moody, gloomy but curiously gripping tale * Literary Review on THE SILVER BEAR *
Well written, fast-paced, and engaging...a thrilling account of a professional killer at his peak...The cross-country hunt is a fast read; fans of James Patterson and Jeffrey Deaver will enjoy * Library Journal on THE SILVER BEAR *
Blunt and to the point...had me hooked from the beginning. I found myself completely caught up with this character, and those around him, and I couldn't let go of the book until I knew the final outcome. * Book Club Forum on THE SILVER BEAR *
Highlights of Haas's cinematic thriller include a cross-country junket, quick reversals, lightning violence and a surprising denouement...Lean work, with every word counting and adding up to more than most authors land in twice the space * Kirkus Reviews (starred review) on THE SILVER BEAR *
Brilliant, intense portrait of a professional hit man...Hired to murder an improbable victim, his intrinsic alienation sees him seemingly proceeding towards his own death, the assignment hastening the inevitable. The balance and rhythm of Haas's first novel are exemplary as Columbus struggles to stay ahead...cinematic-style story construction, cliffhangers and urgent narrative pace. This is the kind of novel that leaves you uncomfortably uncertain of what you feel and whether it is proper to identify with Haas's protagonist. * The Australian on THE SILVER BEAR *
Races along. In a word: FRAUGHT * The Weekend Gold Coast Bulletin, Australia, on THE SILVER BEAR *

You may also be interested in...

Dark Sacred Night
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Absolute Proof
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Fox
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Outsider
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Taking of Annie Thorne
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Man With No Face
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Run Away
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Our Friends in Berlin
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Man Who Didn't Call
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Family Upstairs
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
The Last
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Identity Crisis
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Long Road to Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.