How to Teach Relativity to Your Dog (Paperback)
  • How to Teach Relativity to Your Dog (Paperback)
zoom

How to Teach Relativity to Your Dog (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£11.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 28/02/2012
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
They say you can't teach an old dog new tricks. But what about relativity? Physics professor Chad Orzel and his inquisitive canine companion, Emmy, tackle the concepts of general relativity in this irresistible introduction to Einstein's physics. Through armchair- and sometimes passenger-seat- conversations with Emmy about the relative speeds of dog and cat motion or the logistics of squirrel-chasing, Orzel translates complex Einsteinian ideas- the slowing of time for a moving observer, the shrinking of moving objects, the effects of gravity on light and time, black holes, the Big Bang, and of course, E=mc2- into examples simple enough for a dog to understand. A lively romp through one of the great theories of modern physics, How to Teach Relativity to Your Dog will teach you everything you ever wanted to know about space, time, and anything else you might have slept through in high school physics class.

Publisher: Basic Books
ISBN: 9780465023318
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 283 g
Dimensions: 212 x 159 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Steve Nadis, coauthor of The Shape of Inner Space "Emmy may be one smart dog, but her owner also happens to be an uncommonly gifted communicator. Chad Orzel's treatment of special and general relativity is comprehensive, informative, and amazingly accessible, yet it's funny too. This is, by far, the most entertaining discussion of the subject that I've ever had the pleasure of reading." Frank Close, author of The Infinity Puzzle "With Nero, the egocentric cat who believes it is the centre of the universe, and Emmy, the student dog whose questions and misunderstandings would drive any teacher to distraction, and whose interest in relativity is how E=mc^2 can turn squirrels into energy, Chad Orzel has created a delightful cast of characters to make his introduction to relativity relatively painless. A cleverly crafted and beautifully explained narrative that guides readers carefully into the depths of relativity. Whether you are a hare or a tortoise, or even a dog, you will enjoy this." Louisa Gilder, author of The Age of Entanglement "For the price of a book, Orzel delivers the heady, joyful experience of taking a small college class with a brilliant and funny professor who really knows how to teach. A thoroughly winning romp through a rock-solid presentation of a beautiful subject." Booklist "With canine humor and math- or physics-related jokes, Orzel keeps readers interested, while teaching the elements of physics that we promptly forgot after we took the test." Library Journal "Readers who enjoy Michio Kaku, Brian Greene, or Neil deGrasse Tyson will love this book. Full of quotes, math jokes, and silly canines, the book strives to make its audience amazed by, not frightened of, physics. With exuberant Emmy at the lead, readers can't help but be dragged (willingly!) toward a better understanding of special and general relativity." Washington Post "Rather than barking or growling, Emmy leavens the mood with requests for walks; and when the academics get heavy, she interjects to beg for clarification. Obviously, real-life dogs will not walk away from the book with a grasp of the universe's mechanics, but the human sort of non-scientist can get some benefit." Nature Physics "[E]ngaging and readable for a general audience... I suggest people who baulk at the idea of a talking dog but are nevertheless interested in the broad sweep of one of the two great theories of the twentieth and early twenty-first centuries should give this book a chance. After all, every dog has its day." Publishers Weekly "[A] compact and instructive walk through Einstein's theory of relativit... [T]he prose is breezy and straightforward, and the material well organized... Relativity constantly amazes, and the glimpses of understanding provide rewarding and satisfying moments." Kirkus Reviews "Unlike quantum physics, which remains bizarre even to experts, much of relativity makes sense. Thus, Einstein's special relativity merely states that the laws of physics and the speed of light are identical for all observers in smooth motion. This sounds trivial but leads to weird if delightfully comprehensible phenomena, provided someone like Orzel delivers a clear explanation of why." Science News "A clever introduction to the often intimidating concepts of special and general relativity, couched as a series of conversations between the author and his dog, Emmy. It may sound like a strange setup, but the somewhat kooky concept works well for explaining a field of physics that can sound, well, kooky to the uninitiated... While keeping the math to a minimum, Orzel provides a clear and thorough primer. It might take some practice to start equating subatomic particles to running bunnies, but the reader will find that puzzling through the details is worth the effort." James Kakalios, Professor of Physics, University of Minnesota, and author of The Physics of Superheroes and The Amazing Story of Quantum Mechanics "Move over, Krypto--there's a new superdog in town! Chad Orzel's dog Emmy, having mastered quantum physics, now helps us understand Einstein's theories of relativity in a deep and accessible way. Get this dog a cape!" Jennifer Ouellette, author of The Calculus Diaries "Everyone's favorite physics-loving canine is back, this time giving us a dog's eye view of Einstein and relativity. Physics professor Chad Orzel leads Emmy (and us) through an engaging tour of light speed, time dilation, and amazing shrinking bunnies (length contraction)--not to mention what all this means for the search for the elusive 'bacon boson.'" Sean Carroll, author of From Eternity to Here "Dogs are a practical species. They aren't interested in speculation and conjecture; they like food, walks, and proven physics like Einstein's relativity. If you really want to further your dog's education (and learn something yourself in the process), Chad Orzel's book is the first place you should turn."

You may also be interested in...

Why Does E=mc2?
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Quantum Universe
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Free Will
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Things that Nobody Knows
Added to basket
The Epigenetics Revolution
Added to basket
How to Teach Quantum Physics to Your Dog
Added to basket
Periodic Tales
Added to basket
In Search Of Schrodinger's Cat
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
Bad Science
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
You Are the Placebo
Added to basket
Human Universe
Added to basket
The Science Book
Added to basket
DK
£19.99
Hardback
In Defence of Dogs
Added to basket

“A brilliant introduction to relativity!”

Having not studied physics past GCSE level, I wondered if I'd be able to follow the ideas in this book as I know many have found it confusing in the past but not only does Orzel make relativity easy to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 46

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.