Ts&Cs apply
How to Lose a Country: The 7 Steps from Democracy to Dictatorship (Hardback)
  • How to Lose a Country: The 7 Steps from Democracy to Dictatorship (Hardback)
zoom

How to Lose a Country: The 7 Steps from Democracy to Dictatorship (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 272 Pages / Published: 07/02/2019
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Warnings don’t come starker that Ece Temelkuran’s stinging seven-step blueprint to dictatorship drawn from observations of the failed 2016 coup against Turkey’s President Erdogan and his Justice and Development Party (AKP). Disabusing a reader of any cosy ‘it-couldn’t-happen-here’ assumptions, Temelkuran - one of Turkey’s finest journalists - delivers a powerful warning about the widespread lure of populism and the dangers of complacency.

 

An urgent call to action from one of Europe's most well-regarded political thinkers. How to Lose a Country: The 7 Steps from Democracy to Dictatorship is a field guide to spotting the insidious patterns and mechanisms of the populist wave sweeping the globe - before it's too late.

'It couldn't happen here.'

Ece Temelkuran heard reasonable people in Britain say it the night of the Brexit vote.

She heard reasonable people in America say it the night Trump's election was soundtracked by chants of 'Build that wall'.

She heard reasonable people in Turkey say it as Erdogan rigged elections, rebuilt the economy around cronyism, and labelled his opposition as terrorists.

How to Lose a Country is an impassioned plea, a warning to the world that populism and nationalism don't march fully-formed into government; they creep. Award winning author and journalist Ece Temelkuran identifies the early-warning signs of this phenomenon, sprouting up across the world, in order to define a global pattern, and arm the reader with the tools to root it out.

Proposing alternative, global answers to the pressing - and too often paralysing - political questions of our time, Temelkuran explores the insidious idea of 'real people', the infantilisation of language and debate, the way laughter can prove a false friend, and the dangers of underestimating one's opponent. She weaves memoir, history and clear-sighted argument into an urgent and eloquent defence of democracy.

No longer can the reasonable comfort themselves with 'it couldn't happen here.' It is happening. And soon it may be too late.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008294014
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 410 g
Dimensions: 222 x 141 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Temelkuran, a treasure of a novelist, turns a nonfiction eye to the burning topic of today: populism. Vivid, visionary, terrifyingly familiar, How To Lose A Country is essential reading for everyone on planet Earth.' - Andrew Sean Greer, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Less

'This is a keenly observed and passionately written book. Read it or be prepared to lose your country.' - Rabih Alameddine

'The opponents of authoritarian populist and nationalist regimes have often failed to foresee or effectively resist their rise until it was too late. This highly informed and original book is essential reading for anybody who wants to understand the forces that are convulsing our world.' - Patrick Cockburn, author of Rise of the Islamic State

'Never was a book so necessary and urgent. A brilliant expose of the rise of right wing populism and how we challenge it.' - Michael (Lord) Cashman

'Ece Temelkuran is a passionate authentic voice whose fearless stand against authoritarian incursion is inspiring. She writes with an urgent conviction that has never been more important than now.' - Tina Brown

'An important, current and, most importantly, very readable book about the populist playbook and how it threatens to engulf us all.' - Rick O'Shea

'In the tradition of Hannah Arendt's Origins of Totalitarianism, Ece Temelkuran exquisitely dissects the origins of authoritarian populism, using the bitterly learned lessons of Turkey to warn England and America. Not stopping at critique, she offers defiant visions of how demagogues might be fought. A poetic, vital, harsh and ultimately hopeful book.' - Molly Crabapple, author of Drawing Blood and Brothers of the Gun

'A stunning, sane and intimate chronicle of a world gone nuts. An urgent whisper in our ears about our modern dictators and their collaborators. Ece has looked them in the eye, and is now telling us we need talk.' - Mohammed Hanif

You may also be interested in...

The Rise of Islamic State
Added to basket
The Road to Wigan Pier
Added to basket
The Rise and Fall of Communism
Added to basket
The Green Flag
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
This Changes Everything
Added to basket
The Road to Serfdom
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
The Communist Manifesto
Added to basket
The Cold War
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Them: Adventures with Extremists
Added to basket
Fascist Voices
Added to basket
Bakunin On Anarchism
Added to basket
£15.99
Paperback
The Conquest of Bread
Added to basket
The Need for Roots
Added to basket
£13.99
Paperback
Capital
Added to basket
£18.99
Paperback
The Righteous Mind
Added to basket

“A warning of things to come.”

As Ece Temelkuran writes in the closing paragraph, this book is her answer to a question she asked in London in 2016 which was "what can I do for you". What she has done in a remarkably readable book devoid... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.