How to Kidnap the Rich (Hardback)
  • How to Kidnap the Rich (Hardback)
zoom

How to Kidnap the Rich (Hardback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 06/05/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A reliable blackmail formula mixes with the unpredictability of life in this brilliantly thought-provoking satirical thriller that shrewdly and riotously dissects the huge inequalities of Indian society.

Ramesh has a simple formula for fame and success: find a wealthy kid, make him a star and create an elaborate scheme to extort money from his parents, what could go wrong?

As a self-styled 'examinations consultant', Ramesh is the cog in the wheel that keeps India's middle classes thriving. When he takes an exam for Rudi - an intolerably lazy but rich teenager - he accidently scores the highest mark in the country and propels Rudi into stardom.

What next?

Blackmail.
Reality television.
Grotesque wealth.

And after that?

Kidnap.
Double-kidnap.
Reverse kidnap.

In a studio filled with hot lights, with millions of eyes on the boys, and a government investigator circling, the entire country begins to question: who are they?

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781408713341
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 540 g
Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Intelligent, witty and sublime. I'm hooked. Remember the name. You'll be hearing more of it in future' - Abir Mukherjee

'Brutally funny and fast-paced, this debut from Rahul Raina proves he is a star in the making' - Nikesh Shukla

'How To Kidnap the Rich roars with brilliance, freshness and so much heart' - Kevin Kwan, author of Crazy Rich Asians
'Rahul Raina's How to Kidnap the Rich has already been optioned by HBO: a Delhi-set, reality TV-based literary crime crossover, it will appeal to fans of Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians' - The Daily Mail

'A satire, a love story and a thriller, How To Kidnap The Rich by Rahul Raina has shades of The Talented Mr Ripley that also casts an unerring eye over the huge disparity in Indian society. A rollercoaster of a read, this is going to be big' - Stylist 

'Fans of My Sister the Serial Killer, Parasite and Crazy Rich Asians will be enthralled by this riotous tale from the very first line ... A hugely entertaining and unique debut that satirically dissects India's inequalities' - Cosmopolitan

You may also be interested in...

Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Left You Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Project Hail Mary
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Kingdom
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
American Dirt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
People of Abandoned Character
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Silent Wife
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Camino Winds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Greed and power corrupts absolutely.”

Ramesh is a self-made man, coming from the slums of New Delhi he has made a living for himself by rendering his services to rich families, as an exam-taker. However, when he takes an exam for lazy and aimless Rudi and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A Crime Caper”

Sharply observed and brilliantly scathing satire about one young Indian boy's quest for success. I really enjoyed this, and I think that it has the potential to be a best seller, also it would make a fantastic... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Funny Crime Thriller!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy.
This is definitely one for fans of My Sister the Serial Killer and Crazy Rich Asians.
A plan to be rich and famous? A Kidnapping? Blackmail?
But nothing really... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.