Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
How To Fly A Horse: The Secret History of Creation, Invention, and Discovery (Hardback)
  • How To Fly A Horse: The Secret History of Creation, Invention, and Discovery (Hardback)
zoom

How To Fly A Horse: The Secret History of Creation, Invention, and Discovery (Hardback)

(author)
£20.00
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 29/01/2015
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
In the vein of Susan Cain's QUIET and Malcolm Gladwell's DAVID AND GOLIATH, HOW TO FLY A HORSE is a smart, empowering book that dispels the myths around genius and creativity. There is a myth about how something new comes to be; that geniuses have dramatic moments of insight where great things and thoughts are born whole. Poems are written in dreams. Symphonies are composed complete. Science is accomplished with eureka shrieks. Businesses are built by magic touch. The myth is wrong. Anyone can create. Necessity is not the mother of invention. We all are. In How to Fly a Horse: The Secret History of Creation, Invention and Discovery, acclaimed technology pioneer Kevin Ashton takes us behind the scenes of creation to reveal the true process of discovery. From Archimedes to Apple, from Kandinsky to the Coke can, from the Wright brothers - who set out to `fly a horse' - to Woody Allen, he exposes the seemingly unremarkable individuals, gradual steps, multiple failures and countless ordinary and often uncredited acts that led to our most astounding breakthroughs. Along the way he explores why innovators meet resistance and how they overcome it, why most organisations stifle creative people, and how the most creative organisations really work. In a passionate and profound narrative, How to Fly a Horse explodes the myths on how `new' comes to be.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9780434022908
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 634 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Ashton is persuasive ... His well chosen examples reinforce the idea that there is no magic or myth to creation or discovery, making this an approachable, thought-provoking book that encourages everyone to be as good as they can be." * Observer *
"An inspiring vision of creativity that's littered with practical advice, and is a cracking read to boot." * BBC Focus *
"Many of these anecdotes are rather lovely - a chapter on the credit denied female scientists is fascinating" * Daily Telegraph *

You may also be interested in...

Sapiens
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Jung: A Very Short Introduction
Added to basket
The History of Sexuality
Added to basket
Two Girls, One on Each Knee
Added to basket
The Portable Hannah Arendt
Added to basket
The Conquest of Bread
Added to basket
A History of Western Thought
Added to basket
Event
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Russian Thinkers
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A New History of Western Philosophy
Added to basket
Proust and the Squid
Added to basket
Religion and the Decline of Magic
Added to basket
The Order of Things
Added to basket
A New History of Western Philosophy
Added to basket
The Swerve
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.